Escape

I have been with my beautiful, amazing, sexy, brilliant wife for 12 years (in May ). We have been in a Civil Union for 11 years, and legally married for 6. I love her more and more each and every day. She is the light of my world, my rock and my best friend. We have been through so much lately with our son, and it’s been hard. Really hard. D also got promoted (again!) at work, and is working loads of hours – sometimes on the weekends too. She is being stretched thin in all aspects of her life right now. My work can be stressful, but not at all like hers, since she works in the human services field. I feel bad for her that she is so busy, on top of having to worry about our son constantly. Even still, through all the shit we have been through this past year, we are strong. We are 100% committed to this family and this life we have built together. I couldn’t ask for a better wife or friend to have by my side. She really is the best. If you’re reading this, I love you babe! (You already know this! πŸ™‚ ❀ )

My life, although stressful with Big D, is still open at times because D is so busy. I have a choice about how to use that time – I can either obsess about Big D and all of the stuff that goes along with it, or I can escape into another world. For me, as explained in my last post, that is television (or movies). TV has always been my escape and my safe haven. If the show is really good, I can lose myself inΒ it for a while. I can turn off the negative emotions and stress, and just melt into someone else’s story. Writing is that way for me too, but along the way I’ve lost that. I am trying to get back to it now (hence two posts in two days πŸ™‚ ). But I really want to write a story and not just blogs. Recently I had a Eureka moment when it comes to writing. I have always had the problem of starting stories and not finishing them. I am always striving for the big word counts, but falling short at about 25,000 words or so. Then, just this week I read something about short stories and I thought, “I am so dumb! 39 years on the earth and I never thought of trying to write short stories!”Β (15,000 words or so). Don’t get me wrong, I have written short stories before, but I never thought of them as being as good as the longer ones I have attempted. That changes now. I will attempt to write, and possibly submit to either a publication or a contest, at least one short story. I’ve been looking around for inspiration and have found some writing sites that give you scenarios to go off of or random words. So I am starting there. If anyone has any inspiration to share (or a story you would want to read) let me know!

In the meantime, and in between, my escape is mostly Orphan Black. I can (and have) watched all three seasons all the way through at least 5 times each. I never tire of it, and it never tires of me πŸ™‚

What is your escape? What makes you happy when the world wants to bring you down?

 

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on March 10, 2016, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. My escape is anything that makes gravity look silly.
    And I’m getting my bike out of storage Saturday.

  2. Music, music has always been my escape , all types of music , but classical music (Vivaldi, mozart etc ) is my absolute escape from the world , when I am down or have had my life explode in front of me , I hide within music , it carries me off into my very own inner space .

  3. My escape is reading. It can take me into another time, another world, away from where I am. I’ve learned so much from reading and it enriches my life!

  4. I’m with you on the Orphan Black binging – I’ve probably watched all of the seasons 3-4 times. BUT I haven’t in months – I decided to try to wean myself a bit so that it will be more exciting for me when it comes back. In the meantime, I’ve gotten really into reading lesbian fiction novels on my Kindle. Get to writing! Fantastic idea.

    • Awesome! Any lesbian fiction novels you can recommend? I’ve not watched OB in a few weeks, but I’m itching for a binge πŸ™‚ I can’t wait for April 14th!

      • OMG there are a hundred I can recommend. Radclyffe is my favorite author, and Above All, Honor (first in a series) or Fated Love are great first novels of hers. Also love anything by Melissa Brayden and Meghan O’Brien. I’ve got close to 200 lesfic novels on my Kindle. The lesbians get to live and there are always happy endings πŸ™‚

      • Thanks! I’ll have to check those out! πŸ™‚

  5. Blogging is my escape typically. But that is just writing to me, so I guess writing is the answer. You should absolutely write a short story and submit it!!! People tell me all the time that I should write a book (usually in reference to our tv drama worthy coming out gay in backwards Appalachia and subsequent small town lesbian love story). I don’t know, maybe our lives are more exciting to others not living it. Though you have the PERFECT blog name and I would totally pick up a book titled The Lesbian Next Door. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you! I may just write that book πŸ˜‰ I tend to lean more toward lesbian erotica when I write, in which case that title fits as well for that as it does a biography πŸ™‚ I’m trying to stay away from too many sex scenes in the stuff I write, but it’s so hard because I know I would want to read a book with some female to female loving πŸ™‚ If you write your book, let me know – I will read it!

Leave a Reply

