When did this happen?

When did we become a nation focused on gunning each other down for no reason? When did we decide it was okay for every Joe Schmoe to be able to walk around with a gun on a daily basis? What is the point of that? Why in the world would someone have to carry a gun with them at all times (outside of law enforcement)? It doesn’t make any sense to me. I like to think that the world has mostly peaceful, caring people in it. I wish we could see that side more.

I woke up this morning to the news about the shooting on the college campus in Seattle. Yet another college shooting. Yet another death. I work on a college campus. I cannot fathom what it would be like to have a shooter here – and I don’t want to -but it seems like I should imagine it. This gun-nut nonsense that’s being going on here in the US the past few years has risen to a fever pitch. How can we feel safe when it seems like we hear of another shooting every week?

To people who believe it is their right to carry a gun (semi-automatic or whatever they want) “for protection”, let me ask you this – just who are you “protecting” yourself from? Who were all the shooters in all of these cases protecting themselves from? All of the these men took their guns into SCHOOLS. Where no one else was armed. No one was trying to harm them!

The only people we all need protecting from is all the people who want to carry for protection. Look, if guns were not allowed in the public, then we wouldn’t have to worry about getting shot while doing something as normal as going to work. It’s as simple as that! Have your fucking hunting guns. I don’t care. Knock yourselves out! Just don’t use those guns to kill other humans. Keep them LOCKED in your home until you go out to hunt. Then spend all day in your tree stand, come home empty and LOCK it away again.

What have we come to? Why are we all of a sudden killing each other for sport? It makes absolutely no sense!

The argument is about the second amendment. Listen, the right to bear arms was written into the constitution at a time when we were fighting for our country’s freedom. It was to protect what would now be the equivalent of our National Guard’s rights. It was about protecting the country. Why are we now using that right to fight each other? Why do normal, everyday people need a oozie in their home?

I feel like we are at a point now where we’re on a locomotive barreling down the track toward a brick wall. There are states where you can walk into a restaurant, store, library, where ever, with a gun with you. I’m pretty sure restaurants get their food shipped to them – there are no animals to kill in there. Same with a store. Leave your gun at home. And a library? Well, last time I checked, a book can’t kill you (unless it’s 50 Shades of Grey…then you might die of shaking your head too hard at the lack of grammar, poor and boring plot choices, or just the overall ickiness of the story). So why bring guns there? Oh, because you CAN? Why that there’s a smart reason Billy Bob!

I am so sick of right-wing gun nuts (including my own uncle) screaming and crying when the government wants to put down stricter gun laws. IT DOESN’T MEAN THAT WE WILL TAKE AWAY YOUR GOD DAMNED GUNS!!!!!!!!!!! IT MEANS WE DON’T WANT YOU TO TAKE THOSE GUNS INTO PUBLIC PLACES AND KILL PEOPLE WITH THEM! WE ALSO DON’T WANT THE MENTALLY ILL TO HAVE EASY ACCESS TO THEM! DO YOU GET IT NOW, YOU IMBECILES???!!!

I wish guns never existed. How many deaths would have been prevented if that were the case? Okay, I’m not crazy. I don’t think that there will ever be a way to get rid of all guns, but I also think about how many people are now in jail for shooting someone in the heat of the moment. Yes, there are other things you can use as weapons to kill someone. How many of them are as capable of killing someone as easily as the quick squeeze of a trigger? Can you imagine how many people have killed someone they loved and now have to rot in jail, all because they made the split second decision to grab that ever present gun and shoot? What if those guns weren’t there? What if they were harder to come by? What if they were locked away and harder to get to quickly?

Why are we the only civilized country with this problem? When did we become a country of such hate toward each other? I don’t hate the conservative gun-nuts, I just think they are very misinformed. All they worry about is THEIR guns, not about all the damage the lackadaisical gun laws are causing by letting guns get into the hands of mentally unstable people. I know, I know, some will still get their hands on guns, even with better laws. But how many of them won’t? 25%? 50%?

I can’t help but think of Oscar Schindler, and the famous quote at the end of Schindler’s List: “whoever saves one life, saves the world entire”. Oscar stood up to people who felt like they had the power to determine who lived and who died. No one should have that power. Why can’t we come up with an organization that could be stronger than the NRA and become the Oscar Schindlers of our time?

Maybe stricter laws won’t prevent all shootings, but if we could prevent one. Just one. Now that would be a start.

 

* If you disagree with me, please let me know in the comments. I love a healthy debate!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 6, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I really don’t get the “open carry” people. I heard of a group of them that decided displaying their guns in a public park during a little league game was a good thing to do. I think they’re doing much more harm to their cause than anything else. Even if you believe guns have a place in daily life, most people believe that your kid’s little league game isn’t one of them.

  2. I am definitely in your camp – fewer weapons are better. I think there is something more to it than access to guns, though (although getting rid of that access would go a long way to preventing these kinds of tragedies) – there is something wrong in our society where men feel like they have the right to take their anger or frustration out on innocent people – women, children, other men, however. We live in a world that somehow teaches them that they are owed something, and when they don’t get it, and have access to guns, they take their sense of injustice out by taking other people’s lives.

  3. I will happily join any group that you can try to start to oppose the insanity that is the NRA. I have never one to hate, but I truly to hate and despise that group. They have put the profits of gun manufacturers before any of our lives, and they lie through their teeth to defend those profits.
    I send my money and my votes to all of the anti-gun groups I can find; I am not ashamed to admit that when the gun nuts scream that I ‘want to take away our guns!’, they are absolutely right. I do.
    This country has gone insane…….

    • I wish I could do something to stop this insanity, but I don’t know where I could start. Guns need to go, that’s for sure! Damn NRA! They don’t care that thousands of people die each year using their product. They just want the right to shoot anything they feel the need to! UGH! It’s so frustrating and sad.

Leave a Reply

