How to Fall Asleep Fast, by TLND

Good Morning!

Do you have trouble sleeping? I think all of us have at some point or another. I, for one, had many bouts with insomnia before I realized what I needed to do, so I thought I’d share some of my tips and tricks for falling asleep fast!*

First and foremost are the no-brainers:

  • Exercise!! Ever since I started exercising for at least 30 minutes 6 days a week, I have been sleeping like a rock. I get up at 5:30 and do a 1/2 hour workout. I also try to get in a few walks a day, but with this polar vortex crap, that has not been happening. Not only have I lost 16 pounds since July 26th, I am exhausted at the end of the day.
  • Go to bed at a reasonable hour and at roughly the same time every night. I realize this is a challenge for some, and so it might not be feasible. We go up to bed at 9:00 every night. We talk for a little while in the dark, and then we fall asleep usually by 9:30/10:00. (I know this is super early for a lot of people – the trick is to get yourself into bed with at least 6-7 hours to devote to sleep).
  • No TV in the bedroom! Keep the room dark and quiet when you go up to sleep.
  • Use a white-noise fan or air purifier. This is my lifesaver! I used to never be able to sleep with noise, but now I can’t sleep without it!
  • Eat well. Or at least try not to eat heavy things before bed.

Now that I got that stuff out of the way, you may ask – how do you fall asleep if you have too many things running through your head? This took me a while to figure out, but I came up with some ingenious ways to overcome it:

  • Say the alphabet backwards in your head over and over. It’s easy and it helps by making you think of something mundane. Also, when you are first trying to do it, it seems hard, so you have to concentrate – which takes your mind off other things. Now it’s so easy for me – zyxwvutsrqponmlkjihgfedcba. See? 🙂
  • Think of products/fruits/names/cities in either alphabetical or reverse alphabetical order. You can’t move to the next letter until you name something from the category that goes with the letter. (a=Adam, b=Brad, C=Carl and so on) I usually go through using boys names and then go back through with girls names if I am still not asleep.
  • Count backwards by 3’s from 300. Again, something slightly challenging that keeps your mind off other things.
  • And now, my all time, ultimate way to fall asleep these days: Name the 50 states in backwards alphabetical order. I made an illustration for you:
The States

The States

The above graphic is how my brain organizes them. It looks like it is in forward order, but I always start from the bottom in my head. It was challenging at first, and now I have it down pat.

So there you have it! Tips and tricks to sleep well by TLND!**

* I am not an expert. I am simply one woman who wishes someone had taught her some tricks earlier in her life! These tips and tricks may not work for everyone, but they’re worth a shot!

** These are the kinds of boring posts you will be getting from me until my blogger-block resolves, or until someone gives me an idea what to blog about 😉

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on January 29, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. My wife has always had a hard time falling (and staying) asleep at night. She went to see a sleep therapist a while ago and one of the things she was guided to do was listen to books on tape, which really helped. I totally agree with you on the TV thing (lol, I’m a much bigger fan of bedroom activities that don’t include a tv ;)). I, on the other hand, can fall asleep within 1-2 minutes once I lay down, and sleep soundly. Always have, hopefully always will. *knocks wood*

    re: yesterday’s post — I’d love to know how you and D spend your free time! What are your individual hobbies and also things you like to do together? How do you spend your evenings now that Big D is gone away at school? I’m sure you’re making great use of your empty nest 🙂

    • Thanks for the idea of what to blog about Alison! I agree about the “other activities” for the bedroom! 😉

      You are lucky you just pass out! I hope you keep that ability throughout life. Of course, if you have kids, you may not be able to sleep too much for a while 😉

Leave a Reply

