That’s Not My Name!

People call me Heather. Students, faculty, and staff. The only problem with that is that it’s not my name. My name starts with an M and is not as common as most M names, so you would think people could remember it. I have a nameplate on my desk plain as day.  I’ve also been at my current job for 12 1/2 years, so I am not new – and not to brag – but I am pretty well known 🙂

There is a co-worker named Heather who works across the hall from me, but they were calling me Heather even when she wasn’t located so close. It baffles me. Maybe I look like a Heather? What does a Heather look like? The real Heather and I don’t look anything alike, so I don’t think they are confusing us.

What’s funny about this is that it doesn’t matter who it is, or if they have met me or my co-worker before. It is the only name I get called when people get my name wrong. It’s so weird! The best one is when they come in and say “Hi M, blah, blah, blah,” and then at the end of the conversation say “okay, see you later Heather!” Um, what? I know you know my name – you said it when you walked in! Or when I am walking across campus and someone yells to me “Hi Heather!” I usually wave and say hi, and then watch as they trip over themselves to correct it. I always tell them it’s okay and that everyone does it – but that doesn’t answer the question – why? I guess there are worse things I could be called 😉

Another co-worker calls me “twitch-it” which I think is actually hilarious – and she’s known me since I was a student so I don’t mind 🙂

What about you? Do you get called something other than your name?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on August 27, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. maybe in a previous life you were Heather? lol

  2. How weird. I get either Beth or Lindsey fairly often, but I always just assume that they are going for a boring, common name for a woman my age. Have you asked heather what they call her?

  3. People call me by my name, but can rarely spell it… 🙂 But I really try to get people’s names right. I mean how hard is that? Hmm….

Leave a Reply

