Summer is flying by!

Wow! I blinked and summer is almost over. I can’t believe how quickly it came and went. We had two “staycations” in July for a total of 2 1/2 weeks off. It was glorious and so wonderful to spend a big chunk of time with the love of my life ๐Ÿ™‚

On the first one in early July we really took the time to relax. We spent the majority of our time outside in the sun and in the pool. It was blissful! The second week off was last week. The weather wasn’t quite as nice as the first vacation, but it didn’t matter. Why? Because on the first Saturday of the break, I decided to rearrange our “junk” room. It wasn’t really a junk room, but a workout/game/movie room. It was also the room where we put stuff we didn’t have a home for. There were a lot of big items in there that needed to be gotten rid of or moved, i.e.: a huge flat screen TV (one of the earliest models with the big back end), a 6 shelf bookcase, the table the TV was on, and an arcade-style basketball set, among other things. As I was doing that, D decided to rearrange our bedroom and a little room we have upstairs that is considered a 3rd bedroom, but isn’t big enough to be one. That turned into us also bringing a big, heavy antique desk from the upstairs down – all by ourselves I must add – and bringing D’s drum set upstairs. So one room turned into 5 as the hallway carpet was torn up as well.

On top of all that, we got a call from my nephew J, whom I do not have the best of relationships with due to him being the reason my parents moved 800 miles away. They were in need of a babysitter for their 1 month old because his girlfriend was taking him on a surprise date and their original babysitter flaked out on them. That was at 4:00. He told me it would be “a few hours”, but when they got there, she let us in on the secret that they were going to a concert 2 hours away – so it ended up being from 4:00pm until 12:30am. I didn’t mind at all, and was in hog heaven soaking up this tiny little baby. D was fantastic with her too, and burped her and rocked her and all that jazz. By about 5 hours in, D was ready for it to be over. The baby was great, no fussing or anything. We took her for a nice long walk and she mostly slept and ate, but D was tired and wanted to sleep. She sort of snoozed on the couch while the baby also slept. The baby fell asleep at 9:45 for the night and didn’t wake up at all after that, so it was pretty quiet for me. I have to admit I had a hard time staying awake too, but I was happy to do it.

The next day we continued with our organizing efforts. We have an older house, and you never know what you are going to get when you tear up carpet, which we not only did in the hallway, but also in the little room. Sometimes it’s hardwood, sometimes it’s plywood, sometimes it’s painted hardwood! In both of those areas it was a sort of plywood nailed onto hardwood. There were so many nails there was no way we would be able to pull it up. Both D and Big D began sneezing and having allergy fits after the carpets were out, so Tuesday we hit the big ‘ol American lesbian paradise – Home Depot ๐Ÿ˜‰ We bought some laminate (snap together) flooring and paint. D and I spent 5 1/2 hours doing our tiny hallway floor, and about 3 1/2 hours painting the little room. The next day we spent 5 hours putting the little room floor down (it was MUCH easier than the hallway!), and another 3 or 4 hours doing finishing touches and making everything look nice. I’ll have to post pics as soon as I have my camera with me.

So out of a total of 10 days off (we took off Monday too), we spent a grand total of 5 days doing inside house projects! It just took off and got away from us. We did get a little time during the remaining 5 days to relax, but it was nothing like the first vacation. We only got to go swimming once!

Monday we had court for Child Support (yes, it is still going on, and no, nothing has changed). We had decided back in November that we would not pursue this issue any more, but the OCS (office of child support) told us we can’t just let it sit. We either have to pursue it, or let him off scott-free. I was ready to just drop it, but D was not. She feels that he should be held accountable and I agree 100%. We both know we won’t see any of that money from him (he owes $64,000 in arrears), but if he wins the lottery or gets money from the state, D will get her money owed before he gets anything. He called when he got the paper for the court date (the first time we heard from him in almost a year) and said he was bringing money with him because he didn’t want to go back to jail. Well, you don’t have to be a genius to know that that did not happen. He brought nothing with him but a Doctor’s note stating he has a back problem and is getting tests done. So we have another court date in October so he can prove he cannot work. If he gets disability, D will get something, but who knows if he will even qualify. The whole thing is a big cluster-f**k and not much fun. On the plus side, since Big D is 18, we have not dreaded court as much anymore. We can only go after arrears, and we know by now he will always promise things he can’t deliver, so we just go with it.

In other news, our whole family will be taking courses this coming semester. D is taking a Sociology course, Big D is taking a full load of courses, and I am taking a writing course! I’ve been wanting to take this one course for a couple of years. It’s only offered in the fall of each year, and I finally got up the guts to sign up. I’m a little nervous about it, but excited too! I am taking it to get my creative juices flowing and hopefully finish one of my many books so I can shop for an agent/publisher. Wish me luck!

This post is getting very long, but I wanted to mention one more thing – I have given myself a fitness challenge. I am about 10 lbs heavier* than I want to be (I am still in the normal range for BMI, but I want to be closer to lower end of it than the higher end). I am eating better and getting up at 5:30 every morning and swapping a boxing workout (I bought a heavy bag, a speed bag and a reflex bag) and a regular workout combining cardio, light weights, crunches and push-ups. We are getting a weight bench soon and that will be added to the routine too (hence the reason I had to rearrange our junk room ๐Ÿ™‚ ) I am also doing a brisk 30-minute walk at lunch and another walk with D after supper. I hope to be down 10 lbs in 60 days, with the ultimate goal of being down 18 lbs by the end of October when my next physical is. It has seemed that no matter how hard I try, I can’t lose weight, so if I lose nothing in 60 days sticking to this plan, I will go to the Doctor and talk about why. I worry about my thyroid, as my brother and mother have both had issues.

Okay, I’ll stop now – gosh – I guess I need to blog more often!

*To be clear, I am NOT fat. I am just a few pounds over what I want to be. If I do lose 18 lbs, I will be at the lower end of the healthy BMI, and if I lose 10 I will be in the middle.

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on August 8, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Sounds like so much is going on! Glad to see you updated though. Sucks about the child support stuff, hope that gets squared away but good luck on your writing class and your fitness goals!

  2. Nice to hear from you! Sounds like you’ve had a productive and relaxing summer. Great!! Good luck with all of your busy-ness as the school year begins. xx

Leave a Reply

