I am such a Lez

Hello everyone! I have been absent around these parts due to work, and then the first of our 2 staycations this summer. So basically it was work, work, work and then being outside in my pool for a solid week 😉 I hope all the Americans out there had a great 4th of July!

I found a new favorite TV show. The problem is we are almost done with the whole first season and the next one isn’t coming out for a long while 😦 So what is it? Orange is the New Black. It’s a Netflix Original Series based on a true story and Oh – My- God I am in lurrvvee!!

The basic storyline is this: Piper Chapman is sentenced to 15 months in jail for smuggling a suitcase of drug money for her lesbian lover 10 years ago. She is in a relationship with a man, which originally ticked me off, but don’t worry, you would not be disappointed if you gave this show a chance! It turns out that lesbian lover is in the same jail! The lead actresses are HOT and the scenes between them will make your TV smoke. There are only 13 episodes and we just finished episode 12 last night 😦

If you have been a long-time reader, you will know that I come on here once in a while and talk about my favorite lesbian TV. I have talked about: The L Word, South of Nowhere, Skins, Lip Service, Lost Girl, and now Orange is the New Black. All of these shows have had gorgeous femme leads. Now, I am known to think a lot of butch women are hot, but you show me a femme kissing another femme and I am drooling!

You would think, having watched all of these shows in their entirety (some more than once) that that’s all I do! But alas, it isn’t. I work full time at the job I have been at for 12 and a 1/2 years. D and I try to spend a lot of our time active and outdoors (at least in the summer).

Oh if I could only make a living watching lesbian TV and reading lesbian novels all day long! Now that would be the dream life! I’m such a lez!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Lesbian TV and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Lol. I thought you were just waiting around in the showers to jump random straight Republican women all this time! Ha. What gets me is that straight men love those scenes too – twice the boobs, etc. Did you ever watch Grey’s Anatomy? There was a lesbian couple on that, but by the time they got to that point, the show was, in my opinion, already getting annoying. Stupid storylines, etc. How many disasters can happen to one hospital? Anyway, I didn’t watch too much of them but I wondered what you thought. Sometimes it seems as if they throw people together to have their token gay couple, like the token minority or handicapped or woman or whatever, as if you don’t have to have chemistry no matter what sort of couple you are. Anyway, good to know you’ve got some TV to watch.

    I loved the Tudors. ZOMG there were hot guys. Actually everyone on the show was attractive, pretty much. There was a gay relationship, though it was with men instead of women. Many steamy scenes in between all the beheadings and whatnot.

    • Hahahahaha! Jumping straight Republicans in the showers! ROFL! Obviously not – I am married, and very faithful – I just like watching and drooling from afar 😉 But that made me laugh!

      Yes, we watch Greys, but like you said the storylines have been meh. At the end of last season a smoking hot doctor came in and seduced Arizona (one half of the well established lesbian couple). I thought it was very steamy, but my wife was pissed that she was cheating. I get that, and if it were real life, I would be pissed too, but it’s not, and I love me some eye candy!

      I agree that most shows have the “token lesbians” and that’s why when I find a show where the main characters are gay I am all over it! I understand we are a minority, but I hate it when shows just use the lesbians to beef up the show and don’t give them any real content.

      LOL about the Tudors! I have watched a few episodes, but never really got into it.

  2. Logging into my Netflix……

  3. Brillian – yep you are! I haven’t watched any L word for such a long time – I may revisit and watch it all again! I personally, didn’t rate Lip Service – crappy acting and other things…
    The L Word also – I don’t think it’s realistic (is it?!) – but at least it’s drama filled and sunny!

  4. Thank you – I’ve been looking for a new show! I feel all off kilter if I don’t have something to binge on…

Leave a Reply

