Favorite Obscure Childhood Book

I just stumbled upon a little blog called Becoming Cliche. Her blog has called to order the From the Bowels of Obscurity Children’s Book Club. She asked people to blog about their favorite obscure childhood books.  I got so excited about this, that I jumped on Amazon and looked for my book choice (I couldn’t remember the author’s name), and bought it for $4.00 so I can read it again!

So this post is about my favorite book growing up. I’m not sure how obscure it is, but I haven’t met a lot of people who know about it. It was called Silver by Norma Fox Mazer.

This is Silver

This is Silver

I spent so much time at the local library as a kid, that the librarian started recommending books to me, and this was one of them. The story is about a girl named Sarabeth Silver. She lives in a trailer park with her mother. A lot of her friends come from affluent families, and she feels left out.

I think I read this book about a million times as a teen – that’s how much I loved it. I have no idea why I related to it so much. I didn’t live in a trailer park. My parents were (and still are) married. We weren’t rich, but we had what we needed. My only guess is that  it was because she was a bit of an outcast and so was I. She was hiding a secret about herself (about where she lives) and I was hiding my sexuality.

I think when you can vividly remember where you were when a book came into your life, it has to be really good. I would highly recommend this obscure childhood book!

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on March 26, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Just about anything by Judy Blume. You know what’s unreal? She is the most banned author in America. The author of Superfudge. Cause she dared to talk about, zomg, periods and stuff. Because if you don’t know about them, you won’t have one. Right.

    Also the fantasy series The Prydain Chronicles – the more famous one being The Black Cauldron. Disney made it a movie, but it sucked. Read the five books instead. Wonderful coming of age story.

    • I LOVED Judy Blume as a kid! She is more mainstream than Norma Fox Mazer – but still an excellent choice! I loved Freckle Juice, Superfudge, Tales of a Fourth Grade Nothing – I could go on and on!

      I’ll have to check out the Prydain Chronicles 🙂

  1. Pingback: The One Where I Keep a Promise. And Use the Word Bowels. | Becoming Cliche

Leave a Reply

