Pet Peeves

There are very few things in life that annoy the ever-loving fuck out of me, but there is one – when someone whistles/hums/sings constantly. It’s even worse when they do it sort of low so you are not sure what they are even singing. I wrote about this before in this post. (I know, first world problems, right?)

So why am I bringing this up again? Because it has.not.stopped! For several months I have been listening to this man for 8 freaking hours a day, humming, whistling or singing. 8 FREAKING HOURS. They should really use this as some sort of torture device while interrogating terror suspects. It would work, I can assure you that, and it would be slightly more humane than water-boarding 😉

People have mentioned it to him before, including me -usually in a lighthearted way – but he does not get it! I am fairly certain he doesn’t even realize he’s doing it. It’s a subconscious thing, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying! Some days I can block it out, but other days it is like slowly being mauled to death by a pack of wolves.

My poor, sweet wife got the brunt of my frustration this morning.

The scene:

D was in another room, humming/singing to herself just soft enough so I couldn’t tell what it was. She has a mostly adorable habit of making up songs and singing them to the cat, and I thought that was what she was doing. I just stepped out of the shower and could hear her. I sort of snapped at her to stop singing, and she called me Mrs. Controlling-pants and got very offended. It’s not that I don’t want her to sing – on the contrary- it means she is happy. But I just could not take it. I am pmsing at the moment and so is she, so it really was not the best idea to say anything, but I just snapped! (sorry honey!) We made up quickly, but I know I hurt her feelings 😦

I had the entire week off last week, and it was nice, quiet and relaxing. It was bliss. Then I came back yesterday to Mr. Singy-hummy pants and my patience is starting to fray a bit. I am sure it will pass. I am sure it is all hormonal.

In the meantime, commiserate with me! What are your pet peeves?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on March 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. I feel your pain- the girl in the cubicle next to m does the same thing!!!

  2. My pet peeve is people who smack their lips while they’re eating. Ugh. On the bright side, it makes me lose my appetite almost immediately, so it’s a good weight loss tool.

  3. I know this guy. I mean, I don’t … but I do. And I feel for you. I’ve written a few posts about pet peeves (or I should say pet peeves are sprinkled throughout) so I know and feel your pain!

  4. aaahhh! I yelled at my wife today for this! Except she does this when we are in public interacting with other people, like at the grocery store when checking out, or at target in the dressing room. Drives me nuts! Gotta love synchronized cycles :/

Leave a Reply

