My New Addiction

During the fall and spring, while D is busy taking classes and doing homework, I have to find things to keep myself busy. I am a huge movie nut and TV fan. In fact, I got my degree in Mass Media Communication so I could make TV or movies. Alas, it didn’t work out that way, but I am very happy where my life has taken me.

I have talked before about my obsession with TV shows that have lesbian characters. It doesn’t matter how old the characters are, it’s about seeing representation of myself through them. First it was The L Word, then South of Nowhere, then Skins UK (series 3 and 4), and now there is Lost Girl.

Oh.M.Gee! I had heard of this show here and there, but thought I wouldn’t be interested because it’s SciFi. Man was I wrong! I found it on Netflix last week, and have now watched all of the first season, half or the second, and even a few from the current season. It is honestly one of the best shows I have seen in a long time! It airs on the SyFy channel, so that’s even better because we get that channel, and I don’t have to wait for new seasons to make their way to Netflix 🙂 (I’m a geek, I know!)

The storyline is this: Bo is a Succubus. A Succubus is someone who feeds off the sexual energy of other people.

*swoon*

This is Bo *swoon*

She doesn’t know that’s what she is in the beginning. She just knows that she can kill people by kissing them. She doesn’t want to kill them, but has no idea what was happening  – until she meets a group of Fae. They teach her all about what it means to be what she is.

There are two groups of Fae, the Light and the Dark (naturally).  Bo decides she doesn’t want to be chained to either group. This does her well, as she can associate with both and doesn’t have to discriminate. She ends up becoming a Private Investigator of sorts, and each episode there is a new mystery to solve. I love Bo’s character, not only because she won’t choose a side, but also because she loves all people and doesn’t care what sex they are.

That’s where Lauren comes in. She’s a human and Bo’s doctor. They click very early on, and there is great sexual chemistry between the two:

Lauren + Bo = HOT!

Lauren + Bo = HOT!

Lauren helps teach Bo how to control her gift so she doesn’t end up killing more people. I won’t spoil it for people who might want to watch, but let’s just say these two might get a little “friendly” 😉

There’s another human named Kenzi who is HILARIOUS and makes the show all the better. She lives with Bo because Bo saved her life in the first episode. They are partners in crime and BFF’s. There is nothing sexual between them, just a beautiful storyline of the amazing love two people can share within a friendship.

Bo + Kenzi = Sisterly Love

Bo + Kenzi = Sisterly Love

Then there’s also Dyson who falls in love with Bo, and vice versa. He’s a light Fae cop, and I suppose I should post a pic of him too for all the straight girls out there 😉 :

Dyson

Dyson

You’re probably confused because I said this was about a lesbian storyline, and now there’s this dude and talk of love. Well, it’s more of a bisexual storyline really. There’s a lot of pull from both Lauren and Dyson – and Bo really loves both of them.

Lauren, Bo and Dyson

Lauren, Bo and Dyson

The coolest thing about this is that as an audience member, you find yourself pulling for Dyson one week and Lauren the next, and it doesn’t matter that one is female and the other is male. That’s not even mentioned. I love that because it shows you can be gay or bi or straight, and it’s all normal. No one bats an eye. Dyson may get jealous of Lauren and Lauren of him, but it’s not because of each others sex. It’s because they both love Bo.

If you have ever watched True Blood, you will see some similarities, but trust me, Lost Girl is better than True Blood. It’s funny, it’s sexy and it’s just plain cool! If you haven’t seen it yet, I would highly recommend it!

**All pictures used in this post were found using Google and searching for “Lost Girl pictures”. I do not own or profess to own any of them**

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 19, 2013, in Lesbian TV and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I watched theorist episode tonight. I like it. I plan on watching more. Thanks!!

  2. That should be “the first episode”—darn iPad!

    • LOL! I was wondering what the “theorist episode” was! 🙂

      I hope you are able to watch from season 1. The current season is pretty good so far, but getting the whole story from the beginning is definitely better. Plus season one rocks!

Leave a Reply

