The Obligitory Valentines Day Post

D and I feel the exact same way about Valentine’s Day. We acknowledge it, but we both really appreciate being told we are loved every day of the year. Being surprised by a little present on a random day is much more meaningful than getting one on February 14th. So, while we do each get each other a very small box of chocolates (and one for Big D too), we don’t do anything extravagant for each other on this day.

Every day is Valentine’s day at our house. Not a day goes by that we don’t tell each other “I love you” or kiss and hold each other. She knows I love her more and more each and every day, and I know it from her too. Our wedding song captures how I feel about her perfectly:

Then by Brad Paisley

I remember trying not to stare
The night that I first met you
You had me mesmerized
And three weeks later
In the front porch light
Taking 45 minutes to kiss goodnight
I hadn’t told you yet
I thought I loved you then

Now you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
Like a river meets the sea
Stronger than its ever been
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

I remember taking you back
To right where I first met you
You were so surprised
There were people around
But I didn’t care
I got down on one knee right there
And once again
I thought I loved you then

Now you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
Like a river meets the sea
Stronger than its ever been
We’ve come so far since that day
And I thought I loved you then

I can just see you
With a baby on the way
I can just see you
When your hair is turning grey
What I can’t see
Is how I’m ever gonna love you more
But I’ve said that before

Now you’re my whole life
Now you’re my whole world
I just can’t believe
The way I feel about you girl
We’ll look back someday
At this moment that we’re in
And I’ll look at you and say
And I thought I loved you then

And I thought I loved you then

I love you D. Today and every day. You are the most  beautiful, compassionate, inspiring and amazing woman I have ever met.  I know you know this, but it’s nice to see it written out too 😉
To everyone out there, whether you are attached or single, I wish you love and happiness each and every day of the year!
About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. thelesbiannextdoorswife

    Although I do not read your blog faithfully (sorry), I seem to always catch it on just the right day!

    As I have said a million times; without you I would not be complete. You have made me a better person. I was pretty good before, but I am better now because of you! 🙂

    You rock my world each and every day. Not a day goes by that I do not think of you and how lucky I am.

    We are fortunate to have found each other.

    You are; amazing, special, unique, lovely, kind, gentle and everything I could have dreamed of and more, in a life partner!

    Happy Valentine’s Day to you, and all of your blog peeps!!

    Hugs and kisses, your wife D.

  2. you guys are too cute!! love it! happy heart day to you both! xo

  3. What a beautiful song! It expresses so much. I love it. I did absolutely nothing for my husband on V Day, by the way. I did write a stupid V Day post, but it’s not about cars, so I doubt he’ll read it. Actually it’s not really about love either, or anything else that makes sense. Did I mention I love your post?

  4. firefliesandblessings

    Hello! I have nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! You can find the rules of this award at this post …http://firefliesandblessings.wordpress.com/2013/02/18/very-inspiring-blogger-award-thank-you/

Leave a Reply

