For Caemon

Last night I found out the most devastating news. Caemon, the son of Jodi and Timaree over at C is for Crocodile , passed away yesterday morning. He was 3 years and 5 months old.

It’s funny how the internet works. I never met Caemon or his moms. I’ve only been reading about him since he was about 5 months old when I stumbled across their blog. But through all the stories and all the pictures over the years, I feel like I knew him.

A few months ago, Caemon was diagnosed with Leukemia – a very rare strain of it. All of a sudden the pictures went from a vibrant little boy, to a very sick one. It happened so fast. They live near a hospital that is the expert in the nation for this type of leukemia, so surely he would get through this, right? He had a bone marrow transplant right before Christmas, and everyone was so hopeful that this was it – he was going to be okay. Thousands of people poured love and hope onto this family. But it wasn’t enough this time.

I cried for Caemon last night – this little blond haired boy I never met. I know there are many more people out there who were/are crying too. I feel so sad for his mothers as they reel with grief right now.

Caemon was a gift to this world. He showed people what it meant to fight like hell. He inspired so many people. He was a beautiful soul and he will be missed. Rest in peace, sweet Caemon.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 6, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Yes, he was more than just a boy on a blog. It is amazing how we come to live, support and genuinely like the people we read about so often. There are no words for this. I thought he would be ok.

  2. I don’t know what to say. I am so, so sorry for this poor family. Life is hideously unfair.

  3. It’s just so effing awful and sad. Considering the aggressive type of leukemia it was, I wasn’t surprised this day would come, but when Nutella read the words last night, my stomach dropped out. We’ve been crying on and off. So heartbroken for them.

  4. So very sad!

  5. oh, that is so tragic. this blogging world is such an amazing community. for those blogs & people i have been following for a while (including you), i truly feel as if i know them. it is such a great source of support and inspiration.

    by the way, i have not responded to a few of your previous blog posts, but i have been thinking of you & your parental situation. i just have no words that are forming, but i am holding you in my heart & in my thoughts. part of me somewhere understands your pain somewhat. just know that i am sending you peace in the midst of that entire situation.

    xo

    • I love the blogging world. I love that I can “know” so many wonderful people.

      Thank you Liz. I know you can somewhat understand what I am going through with my parents as you live an ocean away! It’s getting better day by day, but still weird some days. I am sure I will fully adapt sooner or later – or at least I hope to!

  6. May fond memories comfort those in sadness during this time.

Leave a Reply

