Be Careful What You Wish For

I wish I had something funny to write. I feel like I have been all woe is me a lot on here! The situation with my parents sucks, but what can you do about it except accept it and move on? ( the word geek in me loves that I just used except and accept in the same sentence correctly ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

So I am making the resolution to stop blabbing on and on about them and I am going to try and write about more positive things. Or at least more about parenting and less about them.

Big D has been back to school for almost a month now. He has been back to coming home every weekend (UGH!). This past weekend he finally stayed on campus. Of course he never lets us know ahead of time what he is doing, so we just expected he would be home – but hoped he wouldn’t. When he didn’t come home we thought – good – we can have a great date weekend! We had so much fun together, but in the back of my head the whole time was the thought that we hadn’t heard from him.

D texted him Friday night and he never texted back. So by Saturday night, when we tried and tried to get a hold of him all day and he didn’t respond, we both went into full def con 5 mama bear mode! I started looking up emergency numbers, D tried calling the phone a few times, I checked his bank account to see when the last time he spent money was, and I also checked to see if he sent any emails that day. (Both of the last two were inconclusive.)

You may think this absurd – I mean, the kid is 18 now, he shouldn’t have to check in. Au contraire! When you have two mamas and you are their only cub, you will for sure at least check in once or twice a week! There have been instances, even here in our peaceful state, where people have gone missing from college campuses. We don’t want to be alarmists, but we also don’t want to be the type of parents who don’t care if they never hear from their kid, and then find out he hasn’t been seen or heard from in days.

D was texting with her sister at the same time, and she tried him too. Then D sent this text to him: “If we do not hear back from you soon, we will be calling the campus to have someone check on you.” D and her sister were already plotting how they would go to his college on Sunday – and bring all 8 brothers if need be – to find the kid! (That last part is a joke…mostly ๐Ÿ™‚ )

That last text must have done it because halleluiah! Big D finally texted back. His excuse was that he didn’t have his phone with him … not sure if I believe that one…and that he has a life, geez! We have it set that he needs to check in by Thursday of each week and he had, so he thought that he had satisfied his requirement. D gave him a lecture about what if there was an emergency, etc, etc. And he apologized. She was ticked off by the tone of his texts, and he will get a talking to when he comes home this Friday for yet another week-long break.

We will be telling him we need to know by Thursday of each weekย  if he will be coming home that weekend*, and we need to hear from him at least once on the weekends he stays there . It does not need to be a long conversation – just a “hey, I’m alive” text.

I think it scared him a bit to think we would either be coming to check on him, or have someone check on him and embarrass him, because yesterday D got this text from him: “I’m alive. LOL!” Good to know Big D, good to know.

*Having him let us know if he is coming home will alleviate a lot of stress and anxiety. There is nothing worse than planning naked Saturday with your wife, only to come home Friday night to your 18 year old you didn’t expect! ๐Ÿ™‚

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 5, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m 32 and my parents still freak out like that if they’ve gone more than a day without hearing from me. It can be frustrating, but it also makes me feel loved. And, yeah, a lot of the time I send messages saying “Just checking in” or “Hey, still alive and well.”

  2. I totally agree, kids need to check in. Now I make my mom check in. She lives alone about 2 1/2 hours from me and my brother. One Friday night she told me she didn’t feel well, her heart was racing. Well, I call the next morning and no answer. I call several more times then call my brother and sister to see if they have talked to her. Finally, around noon she answered, but I was getting close to calling the police and having them go check on her.
    My son is 16 and taking his driving test next week. I can now find him using the Find my iPhone app because he has an iPhone. He was at a friends house and didnt answer my texts. I binged his phone with that app and even if it is on vibrate it makes a LOUD noise. He answered back very quickly.
    I’ll be just like you when my son moves goes off to school.

    • I would’ve been scared to death if that happened to me with my mom!

      Good idea with the IPhone app! I don’t think he would ever let me get near enough to his phone to install something like that ๐Ÿ™‚ LOL! He’s a “man” now, afterall!

      I think kids are put on this planet to drive us to insanity! ๐Ÿ™‚ Love him to death though!

  3. It’s actually the FIND MY IPHONE app. I have it on all of our ipads and iphones, so if we LOSE one we can find it. It also allows you to LOCK the iphone/ipad so the person who took it can’t use it if it is stolen.

Leave a Reply

