Can This Be True? (And a New Award!)

I almost couldn’t believe my ears or eyes last night while we were watching TV. The Barbara Walters 10 Most Fascinating People of 2012 special will be on this week. Among the fascinators are Honey Boo-Boo (I actually like this show – but they are white trash), the Mayor of New Jersey, and, you’ll never guess it – the one and only EL James – “author” of the 50 Shades of Grey trilogy, or as I like to call it the 500 piles of poorly written, cliched, abusive, manipulative CRAP.

Seriously, Barbara Walters? Seriously? I know you’re like 90 years old, but you couldn’t find anyone more fascinating this year? It just goes to show that all these news programs who promote these “books” never actually READ them! Surely one of them would have spoken up by now about what a pile of shite they are! This gave me an idea for an award!

MFTELJ(This really is a compliment – even if I think EL is the LEAST fascinating person on earth!)

The recipients are:

The recipients of this award must:

  1. Re-post it on their blog along with 2 or 5 or 10 fascinating facts about themselves.
  2. Thank me profusely (of course ;)).*
  3. Give me $5,000 in unmarked bills*
  4. Make up their own award and nominate at least one person.

You’re welcome!

Of course I will watch the special. It’s like a car accident. You know you shouldn’t look, but you can’t tear yourself away.

In other I can’t believe it news:  Can I really be missing the snow??? Today, DECEMBER freaking 10th – it was RAINING. It poured buckets all morning – and I live in Vermont, yo. This ain’t right!

It’s now officially been over 2 whole years since we have gotten any measurable snow. Okay, that’s a lie. Last year in December we did get 4 inches of it, only to have it washed away by rain the next day. I hate to really say out loud that I miss it, but I sort of do. I will probably come back in a month or two and curse myself for saying so. I miss the white blanket covering everything. I miss snow days when the snow’s so deep you can’t help but stay inside all cuddled up and watch movies. I miss the quiet tranquility of a snowstorm. Does anyone know what I’m talking about? When it’s snowing hard and you go outside and you’re the only one out there. It’s quiet. It’s peaceful. It’s….magical.

There have been years where the snow piled up so high and we got slammed by storm after storm. That was not fun. But one or two storms this year would be nice. Especially around Christmas. I wouldn’t mind one in addition to that, as long as work was closed ;).

* Okay, you don’t have to do number 2 or 3, but if you did 1 or 4 that would be cool 🙂 Writing that I just reminded myself of the appendices I wrote about in that recap. UGH! She really did kill my brain!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on December 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love the tranquility of snow too. I like not hearing traffic, or people, and just watching the snow fall in the darkness of night and hearing…… silence.

    btw, random of the day: my aunt was Barbara Walters before she got married. Knowing that there is a cheesy US celeb tv person with her name tickles me 😀

  2. Hahaha! This is my favorite one yet! Awesome work there!

  3. Ugh. “50 Shades” was the WORST. It took me a month to get through the first book, something that should have taken like an hour. I forced myself to read the second book just to see if it was any better. It wasn’t. I never read the third. I’m saving that for when I’m interred with no hope of parole.

    • Have you ever read the re-caps that some other bloggers have done? Alice and Speaker 7 are my favorite re-cappers. I found it was much better to read those than the actual “books”.

      Haha! I hope for your sake that never happens because reading it would be worse than the prison itself!

Leave a Reply

