I’m a Slacker

I have been a huge slacker when it comes to my blog lately. Mostly it’s because I am super busy at work. (Shhhhhh….don’t tell anyone ๐Ÿ˜‰ )

My parents are still living in North Carolina, and my mother pisses me off every time I talk to her lately. She doesn’t LISTEN! She’ll ask a question and then totally not listen to the answer! UGH!

On Thanksgiving I called them and got their voice mail. She called me back a few minutes later and one would think that on Thanksgiving of all days, she would want to talk to her daughter and see what she is up to. But no, all she did was complain about staying with some family friends and that their house is really dirty. Then she told me they were traveling back from Georgia early because they had Thanksgiving dinner a few days before the actual day, and then couldn’t stand the filth, so they got on the road back to their RV park. I wanted to point out to her that if they had just stayed here instead of running away, they would have a nice, clean house, and even some guests for the day, but I bit my tongue. She then went on to ask me how we were and what we were doing. I started answering her and she started talking to my dad in the background! She pretends to hear what I say, but she really doesn’t. It irks the shit out of me! Then she asked me about something that happened with my brother a few days prior (which he asked me not to talk to them about) and got mad because I hadn’t told her. (The brother thing is a story for another post.) If she wanted to know all the gossip she should’ve stayed put!ย  I asked about Christmas, and she didn’t really answer me. She said they were “thinking” about coming up, but they weren’t sure. We always spend Christmas Eve together and it will kind of be a bummer if they don’t come up – but what can you do?

What really gets me about the whole thing is that they ran away. There was – and is –ย  no reason for them to be in North Carolina. We have no family there. All of their 5 children and 9 grandchildren live in the Northeast. I have one cousin that lives in Virginia. That’s the closest they get to having family down there. We didn’t even have a winter last year and this year is shaping up to be the same, so it can’t be about the snow or even the cold for that matter. They just ran because of my nephew J. I get it -he was a terror to them- but they could have moved somewhere closer. They didn’t have to move a whole 2 day drive away! Anyway, enough about that.

We had a great Thanksgiving here, just D, Big D and myself. Big D had the whole week off, and I had Weds-Sun off, so we had a nice long stretch of just all of us being together again. It was a lovely break and the turkey, stuffing, potatoes, yams, green-bean casserole and pies were all delicious! My wife is an excellent cook ๐Ÿ˜‰

While she was cooking, I put up our tree – a process that took 3 full hours – mostly because I thought the tree stand was broken because it wouldn’t open, and then realized what a dummy I was when I removed the nut at the top and it opened with ease. It’s a beautiful tree that looks real, and so therefore it’s labor intensive (you have to shape the branches individually). We got it in 2009, after years of D suffering through having real ones due to allergies, and after the great Griswold-family-Christmas-tree-debacle a year or two prior to that. Apparently we misjudged the height of our ceiling and the width of the area where we put the tree. It was so heavy that we had to secure it to the wall with ropes and nails. Yeah, that was a Christmas to remember;)

After all was said and done, the living room now looks amazing and Christmas-y. I was very sore the next day though and needed lots and lots of food to make me feel better ;)We continued our traditions as normal and had a great time.

When I got back to work I hit the ground running and haven’t stopped since (except to write this blog ๐Ÿ™‚ ). It’s the busiest time of year for me.

I am going to try to be less of a slacker in the future, but no promises ๐Ÿ˜‰

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. this is going to sound very devil’s advocate, but maybe they just needed a fresh start…not just from J but everyone? I hear you on the not listening thing (no pun intended). It’s like that with both my parents a lot of the time, ugh.

    • That could be, Strawberry. Before this all happened though, they were fine with living here. My dad started getting antsy and wanted to move because of J (and because J stole his truck), and my mom was acting like she didn’t want to leave. She even said to me that she didn’t want to go as far south as NC, and now that’s where they are.

      It’s just frustrating and I know they are adults and can do whatever they like, but it’s sort of a slap in the face to their kids and grandkids they profess to love so much. Most days I’m fine with the whole thing, but other days it rubs me the wrong way.

      Sorry to hear your parents don’t listen either – sucks!

  2. Parents can be so disappointing sometimes… so sorry to hear that yours have made decisions that don’t seem to jive well with the rest of y’all up north…

    Glad you & your fam had a cozy holiday! Good luck with all the busyness!

  3. Oh, isn’t family so much FUN? I know mine is – I have parents and a brother too, and sometimes . . . sometimes . . . well, good luck.

  4. I read the first paragraph and I think we are sisters bc we obviously have the same mother.

Leave a Reply

