The Saturday Sweater

I have a hideous sweater that I actually wore in publicΒ  before I realized how hideous it was. (To be fair, my wife never pointed out the fact that it was hideous until I had already worn it out for over a year.) It’s striped. For some reason I always think I will look good in striped shirts – but most of the time I do not. In fact, I had one short sleeved striped shirt that my wife affectionately came to call my “kindergarten shirt”, as I apparently looked like a kindergartener in it. I guess there are worse things to look like, but when I cleaned the closet a month ago, I ended up throwing it away.

Back to the point – I live in the northern US, so there is a need for one to own lots of sweaters. I do, and some of them are downright ugly. I have my “grandma sweater” that makes me look 90, but it is oh so warm! I also have my “tent sweater” which literally could double as a two person tent, that’s how big it is! Why I got such a big sweater, I have no idea – but it is comfy. And then I have my “Saturday sweater” which is the striped sweater I mentioned earlier. Why is it called the Saturday sweater you may ask? Because apparently I wear it a lot on Saturdays. And my wife is a dick πŸ˜‰ (Just kidding honey!)

Okay, let me defend my choice in Saturday-wear. It’s comfortable, always available, and rarely wrinkles, so it’s quick and easy. When I am lounging around the house, it’s my favorite choice – other than my big purple sweatshirt πŸ™‚ I never proclaimed to be a fashionista! I go for comfort, but I do think I have a nice style other than my choice of sweaters.

Without further ado, I give you the Saturday Sweater:

The best dang ugly sweater I own! (and my kitty cat on my lap)

Confession: I actually have 2 of these sweaters in different colors.

So what about you? What kind of ugly/comfy clothes do you own?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. I can’t counter this with a photo in the comment, but that looks like a fab jumper! I am wearing a striped concoction, which I love to bits. In fact I love it so much I’m going to post it on my blog at the next opportunity, just for you πŸ˜‰

  2. Lesbiannextdoorswife

    This is one of the funniest posts you have ever done!! That poor Saturday sweater. It is not the stripes or colors, you just wear it every Saturday with your Saturday jeans…..ha, ha, ha, ha………..

    Love you!!!

    • πŸ˜‰ Thanks sweetie! It was inspired by you! At least you know I am consistent! Deep down you know you love my Saturday sweater and my Saturday jeans (and my dickies and my kindergarten shirt and my granny sweater πŸ™‚ ).

      Love you too!

  3. i looove this post! i have no saturday sweater, but, cozy-when-i-get-home clothes. it’s like a whole line of clothes that i have available to snuggle into every evening when i’m home. πŸ™‚

  4. Aw, I like the Saturday sweater. Yay stripes! I miss sweaters. Ever since I moved to California I have no excuse to buy them because I never need them (and I still have two anyway, for the approximately 4 hours per year when the weather is sweater-appropriate).

    • Thanks for stopping by toughlittlebirds! I love that Saturday sweater so much! Sorry to hear you have no reason to wear sweaters anymore 😦 I love nothing more than the feeling of being snowed in – as long as there’s power πŸ™‚

  5. So relate! I loves me some sweaters and find I lose my sense of “is this one … ok?” at times b/c I love it so. I realized fairly recently that one of my coziest (and yes horizontally striped) ones was in fact, not really ok. It’s not AWFUL, but it might need to stay at home. Dang!

  6. I have clothes that don’t look that good but I keep because they’re comfortable.
    But I’m with your wife here.
    Except that hideous is an understatement. πŸ˜‰

  7. I love comfort clothes, or clothes so big I could set up camp in them if I needed to. I have this ugly green oversized T-shirt some of my friends (with good intentions) forbid me to wear in public.
    (I live in the Caribbean now, so the need for warm sweaters is non-existent, but whenever I’m in a cooler climate I like to wear a sweater I that can ‘swallow’ my legs as well (when they’re curled up that is)…I’ve been told it looks extremely unfashionable;)

Leave a Reply

