Books I Have Read

Firefliesandblessings asked: What else do you read (besides 50 Shades)? What are your favorite authors?

These are interesting questions and I have to say that I truly don’t have a favorite author. If you asked me a year ago what I liked to read, I would respond fiction with no hesitation. However, I have found that over the last few months I have been reading a lot of non-fiction. Amazon kept giving me suggestions for non-fiction books and I was like, “what the heck?”, and then I realized, oh yeah, I have been reading a lot of that!

First the non-fiction:

  • Jesus Land by Julia Scheeres. I LOVE this book! I have read it three times now, and it never gets old. It is the true story of Julia and David Scheeres. They grew up in the heartland of the US where God is King and Christians rule all. They get into trouble and are sent off to a christian reform camp in the Dominican Republic. She exposes how they treated her, and it is a very raw and unflinching story. Trigger Alert: There is one account of rape and several accounts of physical violence in this book. Do not read it if those things trigger you!
  • My Booky Wook by Russell Brand. I realize this is not his most recent work. I originally bought it because I think he is hilarious. The book is very funny in parts, but it does read just as you’d expect: like it was written by a comedian who is not a writer.
  • Bossypants by Tina Fey. I’ve only gotten half through this so far, so I can’t really comment much except to say that I am having trouble getting through the drier parts of the story.
  • I’m Dancing as Fast as I Can by Barbara Gordon. I am also not done with this one yet. It’s about a woman living with anxiety and an abusive relationship. I can relate to the anxiety part a lot, so it’s an interesting read so far. There is physical violence in this book, so beware!

Now onto some of my absolute favorite fiction books:

  • Rubyfruit Jungle by Rita Mae Brown. I would be remiss if I didn’t mention the most well-known and well-loved lesbian novel out there. I can’t count how many times I have read this book. I love, love, love it, and it may be my number one favorite book of all time. Too bad it’s not available on the Kindle or I would be re-reading it again right now. I have the paperback, but hate to lug books around now that I have a Kindle. Just writing this makes me want to read it again! Maybe I’ll pick it up again tonight 🙂
  • Annie on My Mind by Nancy Garden. Another classic lesbian novel – written for the YA set. Excellent read.
  • She’s Come Undone by Wally Lamb. This is an excellent book and I highly recommend it!
  • Everything Matters! by Ron Currie, Jr. I read this over the summer and I would also highly recommend it. It’s about a boy who knows from birth when the end of the world will be and how that effects his life. It gets a little weird at the end, but I would definitely read it again!

As you can see, I have an eclectic taste in books. There are so many more, but these are my favorites. I  just love to read, period. It doesn’t really matter what it is, as long as it keeps my interest! I am always looking for more things to read, so suggestions are always welcome.

I also read The Hunger Games trilogy (which wasn’t half bad), and the first 170 pages of 50 Shades of Grey (you all know how I felt about that one – BLEGH!). I’m sure there are more, but I can’t think of them right now.

Thanks for asking Firefliesandblessings! If anyone has another question, feel free to ask!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks for answering my question! I may just run off and start reading some of these this weekend! 🙂

  2. Ooo.. I love book tips!! Yay! I am envisioning some cozy winter nights curled up with a good book. 🙂

  3. I wanted to like Bossypants but didn’t. Couldn’t get through the audiobook, and it was READ by Tina. Read Tipping the Velvet by Sarah Waters if you haven’t yet.

    • I think I started Tipping the Velvet before. Is that the one that starts with the oyster shucker? I’ll have to pick it up again.

      I agree about Bossypants. I may make one more go at it, but I have a feeling it will be tough.

      Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

