The Weekend of Bliss

We finally did it. We finally had a weekend of bliss – sans Big D! Saturday was AH-MAZ-ING! We went out on the town, shopped, ate and then we did something we haven’t done in years – we went bowling! 🙂 D kicked my ass, but that’s okay – it was fun anyway. We did have other types of fun too – ahem – and it was so great to have her all to myself. Sunday was low-key as she had lots of homework to catch up on, but we still had fun together that day too.

Monday we went to work, but both of us got out at noon due to Superstorm Sandy. They were predicting very high winds and massive power outages for our area. Our state was devastated by hurricane Irene last year, so we were super prepared this time. I am pleased to say that we were lucky and got some rain, a little wind, and nothing else. We didn’t lose power, even for a minute. We even got yesterday off because they were so afraid we were going to get slammed. It turned out to be a beautiful day yesterday, even warm! I saw a rainbow too. It was a great free day off! This morning, however, it was pouring and so windy that my umbrella turned inside-out twice! I hope everyone in the storms’ path is safe and that you all have power or at least a place to stay that does. My thoughts are with all of you. I can’t believe the devastation I have seen of NY, NJ and CT on tv. It’s terrible and I truly hope everyone is okay.

Switching topics (sorry for the abruptness), we have quit Couch to 5k. In fact we quit during week 4. We were running, huffing and puffing, knees hurting and lungs burning,  and we both just stopped – without even asking the other if they wanted to. In fact, D was way ahead of me and we stopped at the same time. I asked her why we were torturing ourselves, and she didn’t know. Then I said, “I am just not a runner.” She’s not either, so we decided to do what we like, instead of what we think we should like – which is walk. We have been walking twice as much lately and it feels much better to be doing that. I wanted really badly to like running. I wanted to prove I could do it. In the end, it’s more about me enjoying my time being active than dreading it. We ran for 4 weeks and I didn’t even lose 1 stinking pound. Not one.

I go for my physical today. *sigh* I was hoping to be 10lbs lighter by now. Alas, I just have to accept myself and not torture myself. We will continue to be active – even through the winter. I will feel good about being active and how my clothes feel, and spend less time worrying about the damn number on the scale. We have hid it, by the way – the scale. Today will be the first weigh-in in weeks (although I did take our home scale out for a quick weight check yesterday and then wished right away that I hadn’t). I always have this fight with myself every year at this time.I don’t know why that is. I’ve pretty much weighed the same for several years. I’m not fat. Why do I always feel like I am? UGH! The joys of being a woman!

 

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on October 31, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Ten pounds won’t change your life – it’s better to accept yourself and do what you love while making sure you are healthy. Good for you for not torturing yourself in the name of running – if you hate it, and you really truly tried, then don’t do it! You only have one life, may as well make it enjoyable. 🙂

Leave a Reply

