How to put this nicely?

I have three bosses. Okay, technically 4, but one is housed upstairs. The other three are in my area – two women and one man. They are all nice, delightful, and charming. The male however has THE.MOST.ANNOYING.HABIT – he whistles, hums and or sings CONSTANTLY. I’m not even sure he realizes he’s doing it.

Yesterday I was tortured for 4 FREAKING HOURS by him whistling and then occasionally singing or humming “This Old Heart of Mine”. You know that song, right? It goes, “This old heart of mine, been broke a thousand times, each time you break away.” Yeah, that one. Not necessarily an awful song, but when you hear someone whistle/hum/sing it ALL DAY – it quickly goes from “that’s not a bad song”, to “I hate that motherfraking song so much I wish someone would take it, twirl it into a ball and slingshot it into the ocean.” Also, the person doing the singing/humming/whistling goes from “He’s such a nice boss and I am so lucky,” to “If he doesn’t shut the hell up, I am going to stalk his house late at night and sing that Friday song by Rebecca Black at the top of my lungs over and over, right outside his bedroom window.” Or better yet, “I am going to hold him captive and read 50 Shades of Grey out loud to him.” – that would be the ultimate torture!

Thankfully he left half the day yesterday, but he is currently in there listening to This Old Heart Of Mine (again) and other songs from long ago on his computer and singing and humming them! It’s been going on all day again (with the exception of when he went to teach a class). Now he’s whistling. Great.

So my question to you, dear readers, is how do you get someone to stop this habit? What do you say to them and how do you say it nicely without hurting their feelings or getting fired? 😉

Seriously. If he doesn’t stop I may jab my eardrums out with these here paperclips:

Paperclips – not just for clipping papers together anymore

**Since I got distracted while writing this post, he has gone into a meeting for a bit and I have gotten sweet, sweet relief. He will be back out soon though – sigh.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on October 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. that’s awful, but I would be direct but nice about it. “you have a lovely singing voice, but it’s really distracting…would you mind trying to stop for my sake? sorry!” Either that, or if your job allows headphones, I’d just wear those and listen to music. I do that all day long…would go nuts without it…but I’m a programmer.

  2. Oof…that’s tough. I had a boss who would suck loudly on a lollipop, and it drove me to an irrational level of cray-cray. When it would happen, I wanted to tear apart the walls of my cubicle and fling them in his direction. I don’t know what the answer is since my solution was just to seethe at my desk or claim I had an interview somewhere and take a walk.

  3. Uh oh – see, I thought you could put your earbuds in like I do. So, no headphones? Whew, this is tough. And you really can’t tell someone this … it’s one of the few things where there is just NO nice way to ask someone to stop being happy, lol. Anonymous note?

    • Yup, no earbuds! I am the front line of the office. Some days are worse than others. Today he was whistling and then singing “I’ve got a brand new pair of rollerskates” for a while, and now his is quiet (for the moment).

      As for the anonymous note, I’m afraid all I can think to write on it is “Shut the hell up!” and that’s not really nice 😉

Leave a Reply

