Couch to 5k (and life) Update

I bet you thought we quit ๐Ÿ˜‰ Nope! We are now on week 3 of Couch to 5k* and it’s going great! This week it’s jog for 90 seconds, walk for 90 seconds, jog for 3 minutes, walk for 3 minutes (you do that twice). I never thought I would be able to jog for 3 whole minutes (6 total) without stopping, but guess what? I did! We both finished the entire workout without stopping once! I am so proud of us!

Who knew that I would be able to do this? I should clarify by saying that before we started this we were very active, just not running active. When I was in high school it would take me 15 minutes to do the mile in the Presidential fitness test (remember those??), while some of the boys ran it in 7 minutes! I mostly walked it. Why? Was I fat? Out of shape? No, it was because I am not a runner. All my life I have thought of myself as someone who does not run unless being chased, and even then I hate it. Now more and more I can see that possibly some day I will be able to run! It’s an exciting thought!

In other news, Big D is home for his first break this week. He came home on Friday around noon. He is doingย  well and is so happy to be independent. We are very proud of our little cub ๐Ÿ™‚ The transition to him being home this time has been much smoother and I haven’t had any trouble sleeping with him in the house (like I did the first 3-day weekend he was home). He’s smiling, talkative and funny!

On Saturday Big D and D went down to her parents’ house to help paint it (I stayed home). On the way there, Big D started talking about his donor and how he is so glad that his life turned out the way it did. He said we have a very happy home and if he had been raised by the donor, or if the donor had more input when he was growing up, he knows his life would be totally different. It’s so nice to hear that your efforts are appreciated! He’s been thinking a lot about the donor and wants to call him and tell him that he is great now, and it has nothing to do with him. He said he wants to tell him that he will never be a part of his life and that he is so much happier without him. While I am glad to hear this, I am not so sure he should call because the donor is very manipulative, and the last thing he needs is a setback, but we’ll see what happens. Anyway, the point is Big D is happy and appreciates everything we have done for him. I didn’t think we would hear that until he was about 25, but this kid is very mature and so he hit that milestone 8 years in advance!

I had a 4 day weekend and it was amazing! Friday I took off since I have a bunch of days to use. Even though Big D came home 3 hours earlier than I expected him, I still had a good day. Saturday I was home alone, it was raining, and I just put comfy clothes on and watched lesbian shows all day long. It was GLORIOUS! I LOVE days like that and I am hoping for more in the coming months. On Sunday I spent the day organizing the CD’s from my car and making mixed CD’s for something new to listen to. Then I wrote. I wrote for hours and hours (while D was doing homework for her classes) and it was so much fun and such a great peaceful time for me. Yesterday (Columbus Day so I had it off) I wrote for hours again! We did our run, did a bunch of outside projects, removed the dead mouse from the basement (don’t even get me started on that one!) and then we went back inside and I just got lost in writing. I haven’t done that in so long – probably since 2000 or so when I was single. I’m really getting on a roll with the story I’ve been writing here. I’m going to stop posting it here for a while, since no one is interested and hopefully I can turn it into a book. 10,187 words in and it’s not slowing down! I love being inspired! I love writing! I am so excited for this process!

I can’t believe it’s October 9th already! Halloween is coming fast and then my favorite time of year – Thanksgiving and Christmas! I love the fall colors, the cooler air and the rainy, quiet days. Hope your season is starting out as great as mine!

* I keep wanting to call it Fridge to 5k ๐Ÿ™‚

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on October 9, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Thanks for your comment on my Dear SuperDad post. It means so much. I can’t get over how spookily parallel our lives are. Scary, isn’t it? The only difference is that C has never known her dad and mum together, and although she knows they were married, she thinks they split up and then SuperDad met Newmp, but she’s only ever known SuperDad and Newmp together. She has no idea that he cheated on L, and probably won’t know until she gets old enough to develop that conscience and ask. Then I will delight in the following days when her anger at him boils. I won’t provoke a thing, I’m just going to stand back and watch.

    As for your Couch25K – WELL DONE! I had to miss two weeks as I had a terrible cold. I stopped at the end of Week 4 and I went back to it on Monday. I did Week 3 once and then did Week 4 tonight, it hurt me so much, but according to the podcast I’m now running more than I’m walking, I can’t sit down yet tonight because I know I won’t get up again! Keep going, between us we can get to our half hour runs, and then we can step up the pace so we can cover 5k, right?? RIGHT?! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • You’re welcome! I know, it’s like looking in a mirror ๐Ÿ™‚ We’re not sure if the donor cheated on D, but we are sure he was cheating on his girlfriends during the time Big D would go stay with him – real winner, that one! It sounds like C is really smart – she’ll do the math someday and realize what a twatwaddle he is!

      Thank you for the encouragement about the couch to 5k.Good for you for going back to it after 2 weeks off! That takes commitment and strength! I did my workout at noon today on the treadmill at work – it’s raining, so I wanted to make sure I got it in. I thought it would be easier, but I was WRONG! That, and the teeny, tiny co-worker running next to me didn’t help my self esteem! I made it through it though ๐Ÿ˜‰

      I just looked at next week and the week afters’ regimen. Holy crap nugget! We’re supposed to run non-stop for 20 minutes in the next two weeks! Hopefully I’ll be able to do it. Someday I WILL be able to run 30 minutes non-stop – or at least that’s what I’m telling myself. Yes! You and I will be able to do 5k, I can feel it! You are like my long lost twin, so if you can do it, so can I! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Sounds like your fall season is starting off super cozy… with some awesome active-ness in it also (good job!). I I love the seasons coming up too, and I am soooooo excited to be able to be in the States for almost a month before, during, & after Christmas! YAY!

    • thelesbiannextdoor

      Thanks Liz! That’s awesome about coming to the states! Where will you be going?

      • We’re headed home to North Carolina to be with my family. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • thelesbiannextdoor

        How cool! My parents just moved down that way last week! Have fun!

      • Cool! Where did they move in NC?! I’m gonna be in Asheville. And, actually, my wife & I will be moving back to Asheville next summer. Soooo excited!

      • thelesbiannextdoor

        I guess where they’re staying isn’t that great of a town by North Carolinian’s standards. They’re staying in Roanoke Falls for a month and then looking for a more permanent place.

Leave a Reply

