A New Challenge

This week D and I started a new challenge for ourselves – the Couch to 5k program! We have been getting a bit sedentary lately, and I have always wanted to learn how to run, so this is perfect!

Yesterday was our first day. We got home from work, ate dinner and got changed. Then we took a brisk walk (it’s supposed to be 5 minutes, but we did about 10) to the top of the cemetery in our town that is a huge hill. Up there is a flat area and a road that loops in a large circle – the perfect place to begin running so no one sees me! And the view of all the mountains is amazing! I have never been into running, but so many people in my life have been, and they say it’s an excellent way to get in shape. I want to lose about 15lbs, and have for a while now. Winter is fast approaching, and I don’t want to slip back into all the comfort eating and gain weight! (or at least I want to lose 15lbs before all the holidays that let me eat! πŸ™‚ )

So anyway, for the first week, you are supposed to do 3 days (we are doing MWF – and doing our regular walks on the other days for the week). You are supposed to do a brisk 5 minute warm-up walk and then alternate jogging for 60 seconds and walking for 90 seconds. The whole workout is supposed to take 20-30 minutes, so we did 7 intervals. I can’t believe it, but I actually did it without stopping! It was hard, but not hard enough to make me want to quit. I was so proud of us! (I had no doubt that D could do this no problem – and of course she did.)

So today I am a bit sore, but it is our regular walk day, so it’s all good. Another thing I am proud of is we both started AF yesterday, but we still pushed ourselves to do it!

The whole program is 9 weeks long, with increasing intensity. I wanted to write this post to keep myself motivated. I made a calendar for us at home that tracks where we are with things, so that helps too. I hope I can stick to it!!
Have you ever done couch to 5k? If so, what were your results?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on September 25, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. I’m halfway through. I’m supposed to be starting week 5 this week, but I’ve got a horrible head cold so I’m not running this week. I found weeks one and two easy. Three was hard. Four nearly killed me.

    In four you jump to running 3m, 5m, 3m, 5m with 2m or less in between. I’m not going to lie, it is hard. I can’t see me doing it in the 9 weeks (10 now I’ve had my week off), but I might manage 12.

    I started going to the gym in May and thought I was fit. I’m not! I also find that it’s harder to run outside even though I’ve been on the treadmill at different inclines. I’m persevering as I want to run for 30m without stopping, I can’t see me ever doing it, but I’m going to try!

    I only run so I can eat cake. πŸ˜‰

    • Yeah, I looked ahead to week four and thought – “Am I really going to be able to do that???” It may take me much longer than 9 weeks, but if I start dropping the pounds and never make it to 5k, it’ll all be worth it anyway πŸ™‚

      I love that you only run to eat cake – that’s where I am coming from as well πŸ˜‰ My sweet tooth has kept me from my goals!

      We will be doing the treadmill from time to time as the weather gets colder. Good to know it may feel a bit easier than running outside.

      Good luck making it to 30m! I’m cheering you on from across the pond! And feel better too- head colds suck!

  2. Good for you! I have read about those training programs. I was never into the interval method (I figured once I started walking, I would never run again, so I just started with running the whole time and gradually increasing the number of minutes I could do) but I know many people have been successful with them. Just so you know what to expect, weight loss at 1-2 pounds a week is the goal/average. (And will probably require some more careful eating, in addition to the exercise.) The weight loss was pretty slow for me at first, so don’t be surprised if it takes a while to kick in. But you’ll get there!

    • Wow! You ran the whole time?! Good for you! I know if I tried it that way, I wouldn’t stick with it – I like the walking breaks πŸ˜‰

      Yeah, I am sure the weight loss will take some time. D wanted to do a weigh in each week, but I told her no! If I don’t see any difference in the first week or so, I will get discouraged, so I’m skipping the scale for a while. Thanks for your support!!

  3. I started this and was able to work myself all the way up to running 30-40 minutes nonstop… and i started out completely sedentary! i fell off the bandwagon though and never finished, but the program does work!

Leave a Reply

