My Heart Is Elsewhere Today

Last night was the first night in 8.5 years that my little family all slept in different places. Big D of course was at college, I was home, and D was/is at a conference with work (until Saturday). We have spent only a handful of nights apart over our relationship, so it was weird to be in the house overnight by myself. I wasn’t sure what to do. I watched TV with the cat and just lazed around the house. It was so quiet!

Before I met D I basically lived  alone for 5 years, so I have no problem being by myself – but man do I miss her! It took forever to fall asleep last night, and when I woke up this morning all I could think about was that there is only one more night before she comes home to me. We talked a few times yesterday when she had breaks and just before I went to bed. I didn’t tell her, but I was tearing up during that call. She called again at 7:00am today to say good morning. She had trouble sleeping too.

They say absence makes the heart grow fonder, but what does it do when your heart is already as fond as it can get for the person absent?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on September 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. soooo sweet, M. i totally understand the loneliness thing all too well. this summer my love was in the hospital for 3 months, and after living together for 2 years, having that time apart was horrible. even, after having to live in separate countries after we had been married. it doesn’t take long for us to grow fond of the ones that complete our souls. good luck making it through your past day apart, and enjoy those moments when you are reunited! 😉

  2. Wow, I didn’t realize that Lina was in the hospital. I must’ve missed that on your blog. I hope she is okay! I can’t imagine living without D for that long. You are much stronger than I am!

Leave a Reply

