The Last Supper

Well, we did it. Today is the last day Big D will be home with us for a while. Tomorrow he is off to college. It’s a strange feeling, your child leaving home for the first time. Last night at dinner we were talking about it, and the following conversation ensued:

Me: Since tomorrow will be your last day, what do you want for supper?

Big D: Bacon.

Me: Uh, what? You want bacon?

Big D: Yes. Just bacon.

D: I was thinking more of having M cook her homemade chicken parmesan.

Big D: That sounds okay too, but if I had to rank it, it would be bacon first, chicken parm second. Maybe we can have both?

Me: I didn’t know you liked bacon so much.

Big D: Well we haven’t had it in a long time.

Me: We had it with breakfast 2 weeks ago.

Big D: Exactly! That’s too long to go without bacon.

He’s too funny! We settled on me cooking chicken parm – no bacon (we don’t even have any in the house).

When we went through the refrigerator and cubbards last night, we found he had eaten almost everything we had bought him last week (stuff that could keep until he came back – frozen stuff and things in cans). When we asked him why, he said he wouldn’t have it for a while, so he was eating it all up now. Then he said his biggest fear about going away is that he won’t have anything to eat or drink! He has the biggest meal plan they offer, and he has a mini-fridge to store drinks*, but we could see in his face that he is really concerned about it. It’s funny that that’s what he’s worried about, but we reassured him that he will have plenty to eat and drink. It’s not like he’s going to be in the middle of the desert in a tent. He’ll be on a college campus, with the dining hall and snack bar close by. Funny kid! I think he will DEFINITELY be gaining the freshman 15! Maybe more!

So that’s it. Our baby boy is now a grown young man. He’s been pretty huggy the past few days (which he never is), and I think he really will miss us. We’ll miss him too. New chapter, here we come!

*He also doesn’t know that his mother and I have packed up a bag of some of his favorite snacks and some bottled water for him. It’s going to be a surprise when they get there 🙂

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on August 16, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Such a big change! You’re going to have fun sending him care packages 😉
    I love that he wanted bacon for dinner lol. Kid has good taste.

  2. Bless him! It tickles me how his main concern is his stomach. He’ll live, I’m sure. It’s common here for students to self-cater, which means that you soon learn to ever cook or eat rubbish for your first year until you get sick of that!

    I bet the peace will be lovely at first, then you’ll start to miss him. In some ways I’m counting down the next ten years already!!!’

    • You are right on all counts GOAS! I’m sure I’ll miss him after a few weeks, but I can’t help but be excited about all the things D and I can do now!

      Those ten years will fly by, I am sure of it!

  3. thinking about y’all and wishing you a great last/first day tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

