Lesbian TV Anyone?

You may have noticed I took yesterday’s post down. I re-read it and it was too much like airing dirty laundry for me, so I made it private. I decided to blog about something a little lighter 🙂

D is going to be taking 2 online courses this semester, and now that Big D will be away at college, I will have some time on my hands in the evenings. What will I do? I have decided I am going to write! I have so many ideas floating in my head and this will be the perfect time. Even if it is only 1 hour a night, I am going to smooth out my book first and submit it to either agents or publishers (anyone know which is better to do?) I have been sitting on it long enough!

The next thing I am looking forward to is finding more lesbian TV characters to latch on to. I love seeing lesbians on TV and being able to relate to them! My favorites this year are as follows (in no particular order):

Emily Fields aka Shay Mitchell

This is Emily Fields from Pretty Little Liars. I know, what is a 35 year old doing watching a show for young adult? Loving it, that’s what! I can’t get enough of storylines that have teenage lesbians in them. I think it’s because I can still remember what that’s like and relate to them so much. Emily is smart, moody, and not afraid of her sexuality. And she’s not bad on the eyes either, amiright ladies? 😉

Paige McCullers aka Lindsay Shaw

Paige McCullers is Emily’s better half (at least for now) on PLL. She has been around since season 1 and has evolved loads since then. Her coming out scene with Emily (in season 1) will make you want to rip your heart of of your chest because you feel too much. Watch it here: Paige Comes Out. She has fully accepted herself this season, and she has embraced  her love for Emily. It is such a touching storyline, and that scene by the pool this season? HOT!

Tess aka Fiona Button

I just discovered another British gem: Lip Service (on Netflix), and Tess has slowly emerged to be my favorite character. She’s funny, klutzy and sexy all rolled into one. Her shyness reminds me a lot of me, and she never knows when someone is into her (also like me). She admires this one character from afar, and I can remember that longing, that not knowing, and then the eventual let down. Fiona Button plays this part to the T and she is amazing! If you haven’t seen this series, I would definitely urge you to check it out!

As you can see, I have a shortage of lesbians to watch right now on TV. Do you know of any others? Better yet, who are some of your favorite (past or present) lesbian characters?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on August 14, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I would have to say Willow on Buffy because Buffy the Vampire Slayer is the kickballsiest show ever.

  2. I’ve never actually watched Buffy. I’ll have to try it out! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

