My Apologies

Sorry about yesterday’s post. I was grumpy, PMS-y and extremely bored at work! I am not normally a negative person. All I wanted to do was go home, but I had a bunch of hours left to fill, so why not do an angst-filled post about FB? 🙂 Sounded like a good idea at the time! Hope I didn’t offend anyone.

My vacation starts tomorrow at 4:00 p.m. and I am ready for a break! I LOVE my job. In fact, I couldn’t see myself doing anything different. But there are times when I just need a little time away. This year I am splitting my 2 weeks up and taking this Friday through to the 9th, and then I will have another week off from July 30th-August 6th. I usually take the 2 weeks at the end of July off, but D is getting her first paid vacation this summer and wanted to split them up.

I am also facing MAJOR changes at work. 2 of my bosses are retiring (1 already did and the other one’s last day is Friday). Another one of my bosses is moving up to where the first retired boss was (I have 4 bosses – 3 in my office and 1 upstairs. The one that retired upstairs was here for 32 years!). So now I have two spaces free in my office. The other space is occupied by my other boss, who has only been here a year (but she is amazing, so no worries there). We have hired one person and are looking for another. The one we hired seems nice. He is a History Professor and will be in this position for 2 years while teaching part time. I hope I like him. I like most people, so I can’t see why I wouldn’t! He has two kids, a boy and a girl. I don’t know how old they are, but I’m guessing they are 9 (boy) and 11 (girl). This is a conversation they had yesterday while hanging out in my office:

S (the girl): Kurt is coming over.

B (the boy): Kurt is from Glee! How is he coming over?

S: Not him! But Kurt’s name in real life is Chris Colfer and he is gay! Isn’t that cool dad?

H (the Prof.): Yes, that is cool! But how do you know these things?

S: Duh! It’s called the internet dad! And Wikipedia!

I was giggling to myself through this whole conversation. Glad to know the whole family is okay with gay people!

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 27, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

