Who do you write for?

Sometimes I wonder why I blog. Who am I writing for? An audience? Myself? Writing has been something I have been doing since I was 4 or 5 years old. I love to make up stories. I have a copy of my first “book” I wrote when I was 6. I love, love, LOVE to write!

As time goes on, I have less and less to say about my life here. Big D is going to college. Our lives, after a horrendous and stressful senior year, have gone back to normal. But I think our normal is boring for people to read about. Sometimes I sit and think about blog posts I’d like to write – tell a funny story, talk about D – but who really finds that interesting?? I know I love to read about other people’s lives, no matter what they decide to write about, but for me, I just don’t think what I have to say would be beneficial to anyone. So I write short stories and other bits of fiction and I love doing that, but I really don’t think that’s what people stop here to read about. Drama or comedy is what attracts people.  We have a (mostly) drama-free life (and we like it that way), and even though there is a lot we laugh about and we think we are quite funny, I don’t think it translates well to a blog.

I’ve never been the type of blogger who gets tons of comments. When I stop here to check my stats, there are days when 50-100 people are reading, and then there are days where there are 4 people or even no people are reading. If I see the little orange comment box light up, my heart jumps! Yay! Someone left a comment!! But most of the time it’s just someone else commenting on a comment I made on their blog. (Which is totally cool, and I love it when people do that!) Am I blogging just for comments or the stats? I don’t think so, or at least I hope not.

Most of the people who read here are lesbians with young – sometimes very young- children. They are just starting out with their new families. Most of the blogs I read are also of that variety. I feel like an old maid in comparison, even though I am the same age as most of them. I don’t have a baby or a 2 or 3 year old. I have a 17 1/2 year old. So what do we have in common? What is the reason people read me?

So am I writing for you or for me? I think the answer is both. Who doesn’t feel good with a jump in comments and/or stats? This is a great place to practice my fiction, take part in our little writing challenges, and have fun making stories up, even if no one reads or comments. Does the fact that no one reads my story make it any less great or powerful for me? It shouldn’t, and I have to stop letting it.

So tell me, who do you write for?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I definitely write in part for an audience, but more for myself. I have a LiveJournal account that I write in weekly and is way more personal than our family blog, which is mostly to keep track of Curly’s progress and how our lives have changed since he came about. My LJ account hardly gets any comments, maybe 1 or 2 per post, but I don’t care much anymore (I used to, but I got over it). I think if you want to write, you should. And try not to let lack of comments bring you down…it’s usually that lots more people are reading than commenting anyway, so obviously something keeps bringing them back 🙂

  2. I love reading your blog; I like the anecdotes and silly stories of Big D, even from when he was younger; but that’s because I’m ten years behind you in terms of a step child’s age…

    I’ll be honest and say I’m not fussed about the creative stories, but that’s just me, not everyone is like me! I like the titbits of every day life; I like to read and think “it’s not just me that thinks that”, or “thank god someone else has been there!”.

    Hardly anyone comments on my blog itself now; I’ve found that since I’ve been on Twitter, people will read my blog (I have the auto Twitter post turned on so it posts when the blog’s posted), and then comment straight back to me on Twitter instead…

    Keep doing what you’re doing, and we’ll keep on stopping by! 😉

    (I really should check out some of the other blogs you read too ;-))

    • Thank you for commenting GOAS! I do have some stories from when Big D was little – maybe I’ll write about some too! D and I were actually just talking about when Big D was little last night and how funny he was. He’s still funny now, but in a different way. Thanks for the suggestion!

  3. thelesbiannextdoorswife

    I think you should keep on doing what you are doing and not worry so much about your stats. I should comment more myself but you know me, I sit across the room from you and tell you! just like I am doing now, as you are asking me what am i doing??? 🙂

    You know you are a good writer and you have always had a strong passion to write. So keep up the good work, and keep on, keeping on…….. just like Gladys!! ;0)

    I love you lots!!!!

    D

  4. i know exactly what you mean. sometimes i wonder if i’m writing for me or for my readers. and, yes, i get that super excited feeling too when i see i have a comment. 🙂 but, as long as i have something to say, something i ant to say, i write. and i write whatever i feel like writing. so, i guess, in the end i am writing for myself. but it sure is nice to have people who read & leave comments. i love the feedback & i love the community. it’s become something really important in my life. but, ultimately, i find my blog a place that i can be free to write, and the more i write hopefully the better i get. of course, i’m also into photos too. sharing my life, since i live so far away from so many people who i love.

    keep writing. just write about your life, what you think, little anecdotes of every day happenings, thoughts, worries, dreams, whatever you want. and write whenever you want. i’ll be here to read! i’ll look forward to getting a tiny glimpse into your life. i read your blog, simply because you are person willing to share you life with us with words, and i am honored to get to read. i love your little stories & i love feeling like i get to become “friends” with someone through words on the internet. yes, i found you somehow through some other lesbian blog, and it’s a fabulous connection, but it’s not just because we are lesbians that i follow your blog.

    keep it up! ill be reading!

  5. Thank you so much Liz! We feel exactly the same about this. I’m so glad I found your blog too! Thank you for continuing to read here! I always read you too and I love hearing about your journey. I will keep reading you too! Write on! 🙂

Leave a Reply

