Is this bad?

Big D has been on his class trip since the wee hours of Sunday morning (4:30 am to be exact!). He returns tomorrow morning at 3:00 am. *sigh* Is it bad that I wish it was longer? I have thoroughly enjoyed the last few days with my wife. It has been blissfully quiet, the house has stayed clean, and the stress we have been dealing with for the past few months with him has vanished. We needed this break, and it gave us a quick glimpse at what life will be like in a few short months. I love this kid to death, but I am so glad we are at this stage where he is leaving soon. I feel terrible saying that, but it’s the truth. He is ready. We are ready. It’s time. I am sure we will miss him when he’s really gone, but right now it seems like the dream life 😉

He’s having a blast at the beach and I am sure he will come home with loads of stories. Graduation is Friday and we are having a party for him after. It is going to be so much fun!

He needs a new laptop for the program his is going into in college (Computer Software Engineering) and has been talking about buying one for months. Little does he know that that is our gift to him and it came yesterday! The funny thing is that when D told a co-worker about it, she actually said, “what else are you getting him?” Uh, what???! A brand new laptop is not enough of a gift?? Since when? Why is everyone so stuck on material possessions to show how much they love their kid?

Not everyone can afford to buy their kids brand new cars or send them on exotic vacations. We try to be responsible with our money and we save for what we need/want. I also want him to learn how to be able to get the stuff he wants through hard work and perseverance (like his mother and I did/do). I want him to earn his first car instead of just handing him one. Okay – enough with that tangent!

Anyway – this short blip of a child-free life has been wonderful, and, at least for now, reaffirms my decision not to have another one!

 

 

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 5, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When I graduated from high school, my parents gave me a t-shirt and a necklace. A laptop would’ve been phenomenal! It’s unfortunate that our expectations for gifts have ballooned up so outrageously.

  2. I know, right? I think I got 10 bucks and a pat on the back!

Leave a Reply

