Busy Weekend

This past weekend was a 3 day weekend (Memorial day for all you non-yanks). What was supposed to be a relaxing 3 days, turned into non-stop busy-ness!

It started off Saturday, when D decided we were going to paint the living room. Okay, no problem. We painted that and it took about 3-4 hours. (Of which D was on-call, and got several phone calls and had to leave the room to me!) During that time, Big D was outside staining the back deck – which was a BIG help! After the living room was painted, cleaned and put back together, I went about putting together a new chimnea (outdoor fireplace) for the back yard. That took me about 3-4 hours – mainly because I put a major piece on right, looked at the directions and deemed that I put it on wrong, so I took it off to put it on the other way, only to get the whole dang thing together and realize I was right the first time! I was so sore and tired by the end of the day, I didn’t think I’d be able to move on Sunday. While I was putting together the chimnea, D was mowing the lawn and tidying up outside. She also got several more calls and was working until 11:30 pm (way past our bedtime! ;))

On Sunday we got up (sore as HECK – I am not as young as I used to be) and D went about painting the trim to the dining room and some of the cabinets in the kitchen, while I washed 19 of the 21 windows we have in our house (Big D did his own). Good thing we have the kind of windows you can tip in to clean, but it still took a llloooooonnnngggg time! We chilled out for most of the rest of the day (what was left of it) and watched a pretty terrible movie (Our Idiot Brother if you are wondering). D was exhausted and went to bed around 7:30, and I joined her at about 9:15. We both slept really well, and I thought the chores were over for a few days. Oh how I was wrong!

Monday started out okay, and I thought I was off the hook. D was looking through some fliers and came across a paint sale for yesterday only. It was 12:30 and the store was closing at 1:00, so we rushed out to pick up more paint – oy vey! We finished painting the rest of the kitchen cabinets, and then started on our entryway, which is only about a 5×7 foot space. This took an enormous amount of time for such a tiny room! Probably because it needed 2 coats and the ceiling need to be done too. It was also about 9,000 degrees and I needed to keep stopping to chug some water – not to mention having to climb up and down the ladder about a million times.

I haven’t mentioned this, but once again, we have been plagued with pests this spring. What I mean by that is that a few years ago we had a chipmunk problem, then we had a bee (or yellowjacket) problem in the living room wall, and now we have 2 bird nests in the eaves of our garage – one on each side*. Our neighbor thinks they are Starlings. These SOB’s made holes in the eaves, built nests, and had a ton of baby birds. They could get in and out of the garage as much as they liked, and took to shitting all over everything in there.

Yesterday we noticed it was silent when we went out there, so we knew the babies finally fledged, and we quickly got on ladders and hammered some shingles (it was the only thing we could find to fit) over both nests on the inside of the garage. As of this morning, they have not gotten through! This means they can still get in and out, they just can’t get into the garage itself. We are closing up the outside as well when we find that they are out again.

* This probably sounds like we have a dirty house or a hoarders house or something – we do not in the slightest! We are very clean people – it’s just that our house is so inviting 🙂

So, that was our extremely hectic, busy weekend. I hope yours was more relaxing!

The next few weekends will be crazy too. This weekend is our town-wide yard sale day (don’t judge me! It’s totally fun!) that we do every year, and sending Big D off for his senior class trip. Then next weekend is Big D’s graduation (YAY!) and subsequent party, so we are going to be non-stop for a while. After that it’s registration weekend for me at work, and registration weekend for Big D at his college (on the same days, so D is taking him) and then we finally get vacation the first week of July. PHEW!

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. love me a yard sale! i feel ya on the nature invasion. we have baby birds in the ceiling between the 2nd and 3rd floor of our triple-decker. and it’s like a damn symphony in there. seeing as we’re renting the place and they’re not inside the house, i’ll probably let the 2nd floor guy handle it (who informed us that bits of nest are falling into his tub). enjoy all the excitement before your vacation!

  2. Thanks for stopping by Metal Stork! Town-wide yard sale is so fun and a great way to make some extra cash. We have vendors come to town and it’s one big party!

    Ah yes, the nest mess. I feel that guy’s pain, although thankfully it is falling on our lawn and not inside our bathroom like him! Good luck with them not bothering you as well 🙂

  3. We have to replace the handles on all our kitchen cabinets and this reminded me I had said that little project would happen this weekend. I really want to get new cabinets but this will have to hold us over for now. I would rather go to a few yard sales!

    • Thanks for stopping by Anne! Yeah, I know how you feel about the handles and new cabinets. When we moved into our house, the cabinet handles were very 1973! And the way they were painted was very bad too! We replaced the handles and re-painted them, and now they look great! Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

