Update on “Karen”

Two posts back I talked about my friend Karen and her indecisiveness around her sexuality. Since then she has not mentioned wanting a woman even once. She just came into my office a little while ago and told me she saw someone she likes. I thought she was going to say it was a woman, but she was talking about a man. I said, “So, you like men again then?” and she said, “Well only some men.” She went on to say how she thinks he’s so cute and asked a co-worker to set them up on a date.

Then she said that she was going to try online dating to find a woman (like I had suggested), but she doesn’t have internet access at home, and is worried that her daughter will find out if she uses her computer and access. She said she needs to do it though, because she is so confused and keeps going back and forth (yet I’ve only seen her pining over men recently). So she is still wishy-washy and I think looking for attention. Who knows?!

It makes me glad I am sure of who I am, and that I have an amazing wife by my side. I can’t imagine being 40 and not knowing who I am or what I want, but I guess it happens more often than I know!

Work has been EXTREMELY busy lately, and I only had a second to drop by and write, but I thought some of you might be curious as to how she is doing. So there you go!

After May 19th I will be posting much more, but until then it will be spotty. Hope everyone is doing well!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on May 3, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. My opinion…straight/bi-curious. 😉

  2. Maybe she’s just frustrated by the utter lack of decent available men over the age of 30. Or is that just me?

  3. Or perhaps she’s trying to have something ‘in common’ with you?

    • Perhaps. I think she is more out for the attention than anything. I try to gently encourage her when she wants to date a woman, but then when she doesn’t do anything to help herself, I have to wonder.

Leave a Reply

