Soon To Be Empty Nest

Big D will be leaving the nest very soon. He is finally working too, and it’s weird to see him so grown up! Yesterday he had to be at work at 5:00 am, and he got himself up at 4:00 to get ready. Our little man is getting to be very responsible ๐Ÿ™‚

Every time he leaves for work for the day (right now he only works Sundays until school is out), we find ourselves with an empty house and a strange feeling. It’s practice for when he leaves for college, but we realized this weekend that it is going to take some getting used to! Even though we cannot wait for this next stage in life for both us and him, not having to take him into account when we want to do something or go somewhere is, well, weird.

Being a mom is interesting. Being the mom of a child who is about ready to enter the wonderful world of adulthood is even interesting-er ๐Ÿ˜‰

D and I are very excited to be able to see who we are as a couple without a child in the house – that is scary and exciting in and of itself. We want to be able to go out to dinner, without having to worry about either bringing Big D with us, or having to bring something back for him. It will be nice to see our electric and grocery bills go way down. It will be nice to not have to schedule “couple time” together ๐Ÿ˜‰

So many changes will be happening for our family in the very near future. I’m not usually good with change, but I am ready for this one. I’m only ready because I know he’s ready for it too. He is ready for college, and he is going to have a blast! Then, hopefully after 4 years there, he will get an awesome, high paying job and come back to take care of his mommas! *fingers crossed*

**EDITED: I ended this post on a very heavy note and I decided to come by this morning and change it to something more positive. Here is a picture of a sleepy kitten instead ๐Ÿ™‚ :

Even though the story I linked to was/is very important, I can’t risk D being able to read it. It was silly of me to think she would heed my warning, and she was so tempted to click the link. So I took it out to protect her. I hope you got a chance to read it, and that you understand.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on April 23, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think it’s going to be a great change, but I can understand how strange and a little anxious it is, too.

Leave a Reply

