The Weekend

Well, when it rains, it pours! D is sick with a massive bacterial sinus infection. Her face feels like someone punched her, it’s swollen, her head aches, and she has a red mark under her left eye. Poor little pumpkin ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

It started Friday night and we got her into the doctor yesterday. She’s on an antibiotic and I really hope she feels better soon. She’s a tough cookie and normally doesn’t complain, so when I asked her what her pain was on a scale of 1 to 10, and she replied “35”, I knew it was BAD. She also stayed in bed all weekend, which is SO not like her.

While she was in bed, I spent time consulting Dr. Google, and let me just say that people are right when they tell you to NEVER do that! Oh. my. goodness. I found everything from “she’ll be fine”, to “holy crap! she’s going to DIE!”ย  When she would emerge from the bedroom periodically, the conversation went like this:

Me: Do you have body aches and a fever?

D: No fever, but I do have body aches.

M: Is your headache pain all on one side?

D: Yes.

M: Great! You have a flesh eating infection and it’s in your brain. Let’s go to the ER!

OR

Me: Do you have the worst headache in your life?

D: It’s pretty bad.

Me: Great! You are having a brain aneurism, get in the car!

We did not end up going to the ER. She HATES the ER. I can’t blame her, but I was getting pretty scared there for a while.

In the meantime, it was Easter, so Big D and I went down to my parents for dinner on Sunday and left her home. We actually had a fun time! When I made a comment about Big D leaving the nest, my brother asked me what I was going to do when he’s gone, and I replied with “have fun with my wife”. Big D started laughing and I thought, “oh shit, he knows what I’m saying”, but then he said, “Yeah, they’re going to get in their pj’s by 2:30 instead of 5:00!” (Haha! If he only knew how little pj’s we will be wearing when he leaves!) But I responded with, “Yup! I’m going to put them on before I even leave work!”

So that was our weekend in a nutshell. I should have taken the time to write the things I need to catch up on here (Mel’s challenge and Liz’s award) but as you can see, I was a little busy.

Hope your weekend was better than mine!

P.S. The strike is still ongoing. We will find out late Wednesday night or Thursday morning if they have to a resolution. Let’s hope they do soon!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on April 10, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. oh no… hope that your week is going better. great writing, by the way. love the way you use words. ๐Ÿ™‚ wishing you peace.

  2. I hope things are starting to get better now… I feel Ds pain. My sinuses sometimes play up and that’s agony in itself…. so she must be in major pain. I hope the antibiotics are working well.

    • Thank you GOAS! She had to go back to the Dr. on Friday and got her meds switched. This new antibiotic is working much better and she is slowly getting back to her old self ๐Ÿ™‚ I can’t imagine how hard it must be to have bad sinuses. Hope yours aren’t acting up!

Leave a Reply

