The Challenge

What follows is the story I made up using the words from my challenge. They are: pitch, beer, delight, chain and thud.

Not my best work, I should say, but fun none-the-less. Hope you enjoy 🙂

The Lost Night

I roll over and fall out of bed with a thud. The vibration knocks an empty beer can off my nightstand and it lands beside me and rolls across the floor. How much did I drink last night? My head is pounding and my body is heavy. I slowly drag myself to my feet and rub my eyes. There is an almost empty fifth of vodka on the dresser and the room is strewn with beer cans. My blankets are clumped up in a ball against the wall on the far side of the bed.  I look down and realize I am wearing a sports bra and a thong. Then I realize that I don’t own a thong.

I stumble into the bathroom and start the water in the tub. While it’s heating up, I look in the mirror and I see that someone drew a penis on my face while I was passed out. Thanks a lot guys! I think. I guess I really can’t trust anyone. I get a washcloth out and start to scrub at it. Thankfully whoever drew it used eyeliner instead of permanent marker, and it washes off easily. The bathroom starts to fill with steam, so I walk over to the tub and adjust the temperature. I pull the lever for the shower and the water shoots out in a heavy spray.

I look at myself in my ridiculous outfit and sigh. I wonder if I someone did this to me, or if I did it to myself. I slink out of the thong and pull the bra over my head. I test the water with my hand before sliding in. The pressure of the water feels incredible on my back, and I spend a few minutes just standing there.

As I wash, I try to remember what happened last night. I remember Tom. Regina was there too – and my best friend Justin and his girlfriend Karen. I remember playing strip poker and a drinking game called power hour – that’s when you take a shot every minute for an hour. I think I blacked out after about 15 minutes.

I turn the water off and step out of the shower. I grab a towel and dry myself off. I put product in my wet hair and brush it through. I hastily brush my teeth – whatever I drank last night left a foul aftertaste in my mouth and I can’t wait to get rid of it. Wrapping the towel around me, I make my way back to my bedroom. I look at the clock and it says 10:30. “Shit,” I mumble. I have to pitch for our softball league in  half an hour. In the shape I am in, I’m not sure I can do it.

I pull a pair of underwear on, some jeans, my bra and a tee shirt. I brush my hair back into a ponytail and grab my silver chain from the jewelry box. I look at it for a moment. It’s the only thing I have left of my ex. She gave it to me for our 3 year anniversary. Then she left me for another woman 2 weeks later. I slide the chain around my neck and clasp it. Then I take a pair of socks and sit down on the edge of the bed to put them on.

I feel something move behind me and I jump up. The lump, that I thought was just my pile of blankets, moves. Someone is definitely in my bed. I gently pull the covers back and the first thing I see are bare breasts. “Holy shit,” I gasp – then I realize who it is. I back up, trip over a shoe and fall on my rear. “Karen?” I say out loud. The person in the bed stretches, and then opens one eye. She notices she is naked and quickly covers up.

“Oh my God,” she says, “What’s going on? Did we…”

“I don’t know. I mean, I don’t think so. I don’t really remember anything from last night. Do you?”

“No. The last thing I remember is Justin giving me my fourth shot of vodka and then I blacked out.”

“Me too,” I say, “blacked out I mean.” I scrape myself off the floor and sit on the edge of the bed again. I put my head in my hands. “I can’t believe this.  Justin is going to kill me,” I say. “You? I’m his girlfriend!” She shouts.

I get up, hand her some clothes, and turn around while she covers up. I start to freak out and pace nervously from one end of the room to the other. I bite my nails – a practice I stopped years ago. “What are we going to do?” I ask in a half shout-half screech combination.

Just then I hear a noise in the hallway. “Oh shit,” I say, “they must be here. Fuck! What should we say?” Karen looks at me, turns her head sideways and starts to laugh uncontrollably. Suddenly Tom, Regina and Justin are in the room and they, too, are in hysterics.

“Did I miss something?” I ask.

All four of them answer at once,  “April fools!”

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on April 2, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Oh this is absolutely brilliant. I don’t know why you think it’s not, because it is! 🙂

  2. I love this! Read it at work but couldn’t comment. I am so digging all your writing lately!!! Please keep it up!!!! 🙂

  3. ha ha, i really enjoyed that!

  1. Pingback: ‘nother challenge « Silly wrong but vivid right

Leave a Reply

