I Have a Confession to Make

My wife really likes black* women. I’ve known this for a while, but this morning – when I was trying to remember the name of Lisa Bonet’s character on the Cosby Show** (for a crossword puzzle I was doing) – she said “Oh you mean the older daughter? Yeah, I had the biggest crush on her!” I realized then that almost all of her crushes have been black or of mixed race – Jennifer Beals, Alicia Keyes, Lisa Bonet, the character Tasha from The L Word……. (I can’t blame her – they are gorgeous).

I am neither black nor of mixed race. Should I be worried***??

* I don’t mean to offend anyone with my use of the term black. I heard recently that most people despise the term African American. If there is a better term I should be using, please let me know!

**It’s Denise.

*** This post is purely just for fun. While it is true that she likes darker skinned women, I know I am in no danger of losing her to one. I just think it’s  funny that she crushes on these women and I am the whitest white girl she knows 😉

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 29, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. fun post, m! my wife’s secret wish is to be a black person. true story. 🙂

  2. hahaha…omg. well i am 1/4 black! 😉

Leave a Reply

