What is it about the spring-like weather…

that makes me want to write? Every spring I just feel like writing! I always want to finish my book. I want to write new stories or start a new book.

This “winter” hasn’t been much of one here. We have had 40 degree weather practically everyday for the last 4 months! We have had almost zero inches of snow fall, and the little that did fall melted very quickly. We had RAIN in January. Rain. In January. Those 3 words have never been uttered by me before because that has absolutely never happened in the 27 years I have lived in this state. We have been able to see our lawn all season (and joked about mowing it)! Our pool isn’t being crushed under 4 feet of snow! And I have to say, I absolutely LOVE it! I wish every winter was this way!

So anyway, back to the point, I am feeling the writing bug again. The only problem is, whenever I go to write a story, it always has lots of sex in it (of the lesbian variety). I don’t want to be a romance writer, but I can’t get away from it!  So my question to all of you is, how much sex is too much sex in a book? How much detail do you like to read? Would you rather read a book that has hints of it, but not graphic descriptions of it? (my scenes are never that graphic) Or do you like books with no sex at all in them?

**I realize I just wrote sex 4 (now 5) times. The pervs that will be coming out of the woodwork will be endless!**

My next question is, what kind of books do you like to read ? My stories always have lesbian characters as the leads……Do you like mystery? Romance? Drama? Am I limiting myself by writing about lesbian characters?

I’d love to know what you all would find interesting in a novel. Maybe that will help guide me where to go from here!

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 21, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I normally read historical novels. I find history itself to be really interesting and I appreciate when authors do their research well, and then try to fill in the blanks so to speak.

    I don’t mind sex in my books. Too much detail can be eye-rolling, too little detail can lead the reader to wanting more. I guess it’s up to each author to find the right balance.

    I used to read a lot more lesbian-oriented books than I do now. Oh, but one of my absolute favorites is Tipping the Velvet (if you haven’t read that one, do it NOW lol) Perfect mix of everything, sex included 🙂

  2. I have a difficult time writing about sex. Striking that perfect balance is tough. If the sex is too graphic, the piece is almost embarrassing to read. I like sex in a novel, as long as it isn’t too-too.

    But, I think, if you wonder whether or not it’s “too much” it probably is.

  3. Well, for the sake of risking embarrassment by admitting this in all of blogland, I will just state that for the record, I for one thoroughly enjoy sex in books (umm…*ahem* lesbian erotica, anyone?). I think the amount of sex in a “regular” novel is dependent upon the characters, the flow, and the genre of the book. I think you should go for it, the post it here in PW protected tidbits and let us give you feedback!! That would be a LOT of fun!! 🙂 I love the way you write in your blog and would be super thrilled to read anything you write in a longer form!!! 🙂

    • Aww shucks A! Thank you 🙂 You are too kind.

      I’ve thought about posting bits of it here. I may do that! We are a lot alike – I love reading that sort of thing too. *blush* I sometimes wish there were more sex in some of the books I read, but usually it’s once and then that’s it!

  4. I have this bad habit too – sex is easy to write about, isn’t it? It comes with a whole host of easy conflicts to write about. I’ve challenged myself to steer away from sex, and lesbians. Well, I don’t limit myself to writing about heteros completely, but I try to write about something that has nothing to do with sexuality. Think of all the other subjects you can write about that don’t involve sex/sexuality – work, family, politics, religion, mental health, pets… it’s an interesting excercise and will stretch you as a writer!

    • I have been thinking about writing one that doesn’t have any (or very little) sex in it. You are right that there is so much more to write about. I struggle because this book I have mostly written does have a lot of sex in it, and until it’s finished, I’m not sure I can focus on much else when it comes to writing. I will try though! Thank you for all of your advice, I will certainly think of all of this when I begin a new project.

Leave a Reply

