Are you kidding me?

Several months ago, D decided to stop getting the paper delivered to our house. It was getting way too expensive, and we figured we would just watch the news more. At the same time, my work gave everyone access to the paper online from any of the computers on campus. I found out today that a friend’s son’s best friend died at only 21, so I went online to see the obituary.

While I was there, I clicked around to see if there were any interesting stories (there rarely ever are). On the main page, they have this feature of  “most discussed articles”, and one of them was titled, “Cut your own X-mas tree for $5.00”. I thought to myself, “what an odd article to be part of the most discussed section.” So I clicked on it to see what the deal was. Apparently you can get a permit to cut your tree in our state forest with a permit that costs $5.00. Okay. Simple enough – but there were like a million comments (okay, more like 20-30, but so many as to make one wonder).

Can you guess what all the comments were about?

The X in the title of the article! People are going back and forth – “Keep the CHRIST in Christmas!” “Christians are being discriminated against!” “All the gays and minorities are trying to take away Christmas!” Are you serious? You are browsing a newspaper website and all you can think to do is write comment after comment on the article about Christmas trees because they called them X-Mas trees?? Get a life!!

I am not at all religious in any way, but I still call it Christmas and I still call them Christmas trees (and I don’t blink twice when someone calls it x-mas). And I am a lesbian. So you can see, I am totally trying to take away Christmas based on that fact alone. Gays are ruining the world!!

Why is it that with anything that turns religious, political or negative, gays and lesbians are dragged into the argument? Oh, I forgot, it’s all our fault. We are heathens who have ruined straight people’s lives by wanting to serve openly in the military and marry the person we love and be treated as equal human beings. You are right bigoted people of the world, we are evil, evil monsters 😉

What ever happened to live and let live? Or love and let love?

Anyway, this post went way off topic. What does it matter if someone writes X instead of Christ? If that is your religion, fine. But if it’s not mine, and I want to say x-mas, I will. It’s called freedom of speech, biyatch!

Don’t force your religious choices down my throat, and I won’t shove my lack of religion down yours. Deal?

 

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on December 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Pretty much only lunatics comment on articles like that. Don’t take it personally. There are way too many wackadoos in this world. Anyway, I usually write it like Xmas to make a point since it’s so commercialized anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

