Tech Nerd

Around our house, I am a self-proclaimed technical genius. (Self proclaimed being the operative words in that sentence 😉 ) Mostly because I am not afraid of anything tech-related and will work on a problem until I fix it. It’s worked so far!

I love all kinds of gadgets and trying to figure out how they work and what they do. Big D is extremely tech-minded. He’s taking a class online this semester, and he is doing all sorts of programming stuff that I will never understand, but he enjoys it a lot. He still comes to me with some tech issues, so I feel good about the fact he doesn’t think he knows everything. (He will soon enough when he goes to college!) I never took any classes on all this stuff, it just interests me, so I am not saying I know sooooo much about computers/electronics or anything like that. But it’s nice to be needed 🙂

You would think that with all my techy-ness that I would have all the gadgets. Alas, I do not. I have a 6 year old Sony*Vaio laptop, and that’s about it. I do not have an I*Pad, an I*pod touch, or even a really cool mp3 player (I do have one, but it only holds like 60 songs).

I have wanted a Ki*ndle for a few years now because I love to read. So when I saw that the Ki*ndle F*ire was going to come out, I daydreamed that I could get one. I told D I just wanted a plain old Ki*ndle for Christmas, but then, in a moment of weakness last week, we both ordered each other a Ki*ndle F*ire!! I am so excited about this and I cannot wait until Christmas to spend all day (and week) lollygagging and playing with it. I seriously cannot express in words just how over the moon I am about it!! D is too, and we both say to each other every day, “I can’t believe we are getting them!” I can’t remember being this excited about a Christmas present in a long time! I feel like a kid again. I cannot wait until they get here (they shipped, but won’t be here until Monday or Tuesday) just so I know we really have them!

In other news, Big D asked for a new TV for Christmas (among other things) and it unfortunately came today before he got home – in a package that left nothing to the imagination what was inside. Why do companies do that? Especially around Christmas time? He called to tell me he knows about it, and I think he feels bad that he saw it, but it’s not the end of the world. He has a few presents that we know he will be surprised with, so it’s all good. I wish we had thought to have it sent to one of our workplaces, but you live and learn. When I was a kid I remember peeking at my presents and having no surprises. As far as we know, this is the first time he’s seen something he’s getting.

I know some people out there might have a problem with us giving each other such expensive gifts. For the record, we know it’s not about how much money we spend, it’s about the thought and love. Usually D and I don’t spend a heck of a lot on each other, so it’s a nice little surprise that we did this year (and could!).

So what about you? What’s on the top of your wishlist this year?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love my kindle, and it’s only a first generation. Top of our list is simply more babysitting time from our parents (including a whole weekend so we can get away). Not so much into material things as we are experiences.

    • Ah yes, I thought someone might say something about material things. We are not into material things much either, that’s why it’s a surprise we did this! If you saw our house and the things in it, you would see that this is not a usual thing for us. (I’m not saying our home isn’t nice, but it’s modest).

  2. Please don’t take that as a dig at all 😉 I like my share of “stuff” but I can never think of things for people to get me really. I just know that now, more than ever, I feel more tied down so the best present is the ability to do something/go somewhere different.

    • No worries 🙂 I can completely get what you are saying! Since our boy is much older, we don’t feel the need to always be going and doing something different – since we can do whatever, whenever (for the most part). If he was little, I would probably feel the same way you do!

Leave a Reply

