I’m Still Here

I’ve noticed a huge surge in readers lately. I’m not sure why, but I’m not complaining! So I’m curious, what kinds of things do you want to know? What keeps you coming back? Are there any topics you want me to discuss?

I wish I had something interesting or exciting to report, but I’ve got nothin’. Work has been very busy, Big D has been having much better days, and my relationship with D is still very strong. The only exciting thing happening is that tomorrow D is taking my car to get 4 new tires, an oil change and an inspection (her brother is a mechanic). Woopadeedoo!! (I actually am excited about this a little because my tires now are shit – hee hee:)) I have to bring Big D with me to work in the morning because he has a Doctor’s appointment (he has the day off of school for Veteran’s Day). Isn’t this such exciting stuff?! 😉

After tonight we only have 3 more classes and we are done for the semester! For those of you that are new to reading me, welcome! And to catch you up, my wife and I have been taking a class on sexual assault, domestic/relationship violence, stalking and any other sort of abuse prevention. I work on a college campus and this class is not only a class, but also a group that has a 24 hour hotline so anyone who has been abused (or friends of the abused or abuser) can call for help. We went through a very rigorous 30 hour training one weekend in October. The class meets once a week on Thursday nights, and D and I are SO ready for it to be over! Neither one of us can be on-call for it. We are both mandated reporters, and the group is confidential. So even though the class is interesting, we don’t get to actually have contact with the victims or help them. That sucks. We did a few plays and I did a presentation for a class (that was actually kind of fun). But really all D and I are doing is re-learning a lot of stuff we already know. D has lived through domestic violence, stalking and many other situations with 2 of her exes (I won’t go into detail as that is her story to tell). She lived it, so she knows a lot about it. I lived through emotional abuse with my ex, and I was a part of a group when I was in college that dealt with these issues and I also took a few classes. So none of the information is really new to me either.

We have to do a project that focuses on a problem that needs addressing, and we need to do a 5-7 page paper on it. D and I decided to do ours on childhood mental abuse and how it carries forward into adulthood. Often times people don’t admit they were abused until they are in their early 20’s -it all starts to come out in college. Because my major was Communication, I love editing video and putting together movies, tv commercials, documentaries, you name it. So we decided we are going to do a PSA (public service announcement) as our project. When we presented our idea to the class last week, they thought it was great! No one else thought to do anything with video, so we are original.

So that’s it. That’s all that’s been going on with us lately. Thanksgiving is fast approaching, and so is the end of this class. December 8th cannot come fast enough!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The class sounds wonderful (as does your project!) and it seems like it is a great class offering – hooray for Dec. 8 being close though 🙂 I have some ideas for you to write about!
    -What is the most memorable trip you and D have ever taken together?
    -What’s your preferred “date night” with her?
    -What are you 2 looking forward to once Big D heads off to college in the fall? (Yes, yes, I know you love him will miss him, etc BUT….aren’t you just the teensiest bit excited at the idea of having the house all to yourselves 90% of the time???)

  2. Thanks for the comment A! I will tackle your questions in a future post 🙂

Leave a Reply

