My 100th Post!

This, my dear blog friends, is my 100th post! What does that mean? A picture of me? A giveaway? Free cars? Alas, no. All you’re gonna get out of me today is a regular old blog post.

Today D and I had our first performance for our class. We did it for a packed house of about 450 athletes. It was nerve-racking seeing that many people out there, but our class did awesome and we all survived it! The only thing that irked us was that the students weren’t as engaged as we would have liked. They had to be there. We did skits about relationship violence, sexual assault, harassment and stalking. They laughed when they shouldn’t have and behaved sort of immaturely during the Q&A, but I didn’t expect anything less. The funny thing was that the only skit they didn’t laugh at was mine. It was about a lesbian relationship where my “ex” was stalking me. (No, I didn’t write it…..) They only giggled a little when they realized that we were supposed to be an ex-couple. Then they were dead quiet. I like to think it was my spectacular acting skills! 😉 They were all stunned!

We will be having 30 hours of training this weekend, so hopefully we can talk out what to do next time (next Thursday the 6th) if we feel like that’s happening again. At least we will all be able to answer questions then, as only one of us did all the talking, as she’s already been trained.

We had our dress rehearsal last night and as a result, D and I didn’t sleep very well. We were going over our lines in our heads all night! Now that we’ve done it once, I am sure it will be better next week. So I am tired, burnt out and ready to go home. I still have 1 hour left and it’s been so quiet here. At least I got to wear a tee shirt and jeans to work today!

In other news, Big D is done with football. No, the season is not over. A few weeks ago, he got hit in the back by a guy’s helmeted head. He complained about it a bit and then he said it felt better. So he played in the next game, and by halftime he was holding his back constantly. We got him into the Dr. right away and they took x-rays. They thought at first that he had cracked a vertebrae, but it turns out he was just badly bruised and had to sit out for a while. Let me tell you a little something about Big D: if you don’t keep him engaged and moving, he will lose interest. At first he said he would still go to all the practices and games and just not play for a while. Then, after a week, he started skipping practice. When I asked him why, he said, “I didn’t feel like standing around for 2 hours doing nothing.” D and I talked about forcing him to go and stick to his commitment, but in the end we decided it wasn’t worth the fight. Plus, he could get hurt worse, and none of us want that! Finally we sat him down and asked him what he was going to do about it. He was convinced he had missed too much and wouldn’t be able to play again. We think he just lost interest. He told the coach last week that he was done.

His Doctor wanted to have him see a physical therapist since he was walking funny…so we had him set up for that in 2 weeks time (that’s the first time they could get him in). Now, since quitting, he hasn’t mentioned his back once and is walking and moving about just fine. I think we’ll be canceling that appointment.

Now, after typing this all out and getting interrupted by a little work, I have about 25 minutes left of the day. I cannot wait to get home!!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on September 27, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Happy 100th post, sweets!!!!! It’s a good one!! 🙂 Glad your performance went well, sounds like you were working with a tough crowd (ooooh high schoolers!)

    PS, just as an aside, please keep the PT appt!! Even if you go in just for the eval, better safe than sorry. 🙂 (That’s my PSA for all my PT friends out there!) hehe

  2. Thanks A! They were college students – but still a tough crowd!

    Yeah, we were talking to him last night and he said that it still bothers him from time to time, so we might just keep it. It’s hard to know what to do with him sometimes as a lot of the time he over-exaggerates. Like when he’s really sick, he won’t say anything. But when he’s not sick he’ll walk around moaning and spitting in the toilet! LOL! Hasn’t he heard of the boy who cried wolf?!

Leave a Reply

