I Am One Lucky Girl

Hello all! After a few days back at work I have caught up and subsequently forgotten that I even had a vacation. Isn’t that how it goes? Anyway, I love my job, so it’s no big deal. Now on to the real post:

I haven’t written much on here about D. I mean, you have heard of some conversations, but I’ve mostly kept you in the dark. Well, I am letting you in on a little secret: D is the funniest person I know. Funniest. Like funnier than any comedian I have seen funny. Back when I was with Stephanie I was stressed out. All. The. Time. I rarely laughed and always cried. I never felt loved or secure. Then I met D. They say that laughter is the best medicine, and I wholeheartedly believe that is true! I have been laughing for 7 years and 3 months and I don’t see it stopping anytime soon.

One day the 3 of us were watching a movie at home and Big D had a bowl of popcorn. Apparently he was crunching loudly and driving D nuts, so she said to him, “Hey Popscorn, you almost done with that?” She just came up with that out of the blue, and for several days afterwards we would call Big D “Popscorn”. Until he threatened to beat us up (jokingly of course). We still say it under our breaths once in a while and giggle.

Sometimes she doesn’t mean to be funny. What I mean is that she grew up with older parents who made up a lot of words. She also uses older style words for certain things, like she calls pants “britches”. Before she met me she would call a siren a “sireen”. She’s not uneducated or stupid, her family is just funny. There are 9 kids, so when you have a family that size you tend to spend a lot of time with them and learn their habits and words. Her father is known to make up words all the time. So what is all this introductory information leading up to? Our latest bit of hilarity:

Me: *Saying something I can’t remember now…*

D: That’s a bunch of hogpodge.

Me: *laughing hysterically* What?

D: Hogpodge. What? That’s a word right?

Me: No! You mean hogwash? Or hodgepodge?

D: *laughing* Damn Pa! (That’s what we call her father)

Me: So which did you mean?

D: What was it again?

Me: Hogwash means rubbish, Hodgepodge means a bunch of different things mixed together.

D: I like my word better. Hogpodge – a bunch of different rubbish.

We laughed about this for hours, and while we were in bed getting ready to sleep, she would roll over and whisper in my ear, “Honey I have a secret – that’s a bunch of hogpodge!”

She’s the biggest goofball and I cannot imagine being with anyone else. I love to laugh and I love that we make each other laugh. So whether it’s her goofy words or her quick wit, I am one very lucky girl to have her 🙂

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on August 10, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Hilarious. Truly. K has some zingers too…and I tease her that she says weird things b/c she’s from western PA. hehe. I love that you guys laugh together and often. That’s such a wonderful relationship trait!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing 🙂

  2. Cute. I love differences in dialect…they can lead to some hilarity.

  3. So sweet…

  4. Laughing and funny is absolutely the best thing!!

Leave a Reply

