Wow, I missed a lot!

Well, I was doing really well with the non-challenge, and then work got REALLY busy and I dropped off the face of the earth. Now that there’s a reprieve, I will finish off the last few.

Day 28 – What size family do you come from, what size family do you want, and why?

My family growing up varied in size. Originally my mother had a daughter from a previous marriage, and my parents had my brother and I together. So there were 3 kids. Then we adopted my oldest brother when I was 3, so there were four. Then, when I was 16, we adopted another brother ( he was 16 too), so there ended up being 5 of us total – 3 boys and 2 girls. As I’ve mentioned previously, we almost always had other people living with us, whether it was relatives, families that didn’t have a home, or foster kids – so the house was almost always packed with people. D comes from a family with 9 kids (she’s the youngest), so we both had the experience of living with a lot of people around all the time.

I think this really shaped the people we are today because we both cannot stand chaos. We both like quiet time and alone time. We both can appreciate sitting on the back porch and listening to nothing but the birds chirping.

I have always only wanted one or two children. D never really thought about it, wasn’t even sure she wanted kids, but then got pregnant with Big D. She knew she was done after him. She also had a very difficult pregnancy, had heart failure at one point, and was in the hospital and on bed rest. She was really sick. Big D had a heart problem where it was beating too fast, and they thought he would not survive once born. D had to take lots of heavy heart medications that were making her own heart weak so she could help Big D have a chance. They even brought the Chaplin in one day, saying the baby would not make it. I think that even if she wanted more kids after that, that experience put her off of it.

Up until about 8 months ago, I still wanted more. Now I am content with it being us three. He can keep himself entertained and we can do whatever we want. We don’t have to worry about childcare or diapers. Every once in a while I think about what it would be like to have one of my own, but then, when we are outside, I think, damn, the baby might be crying right now and I wouldn’t be able to have this quiet time. Or when we are swimming, I think, if we had a baby right now, this would not be as enjoyable as it is now.

So yeah, I’m good. We’re good. Life is good:)

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 28, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wow, I had no idea bout D’s experience…that’s terrible. You’re right with those last points lol, but it does get better. Still, I find myself waiting on him turning 5 a lot these days!

    • Yeah, I don’t know if I would have been strong enough to get her through that time period. I would have needed the hospitalization! She’s one tough cookie – she did it all with very little support from her ex husband. My little firecracker 🙂

      5 will be a good age. It’s not too far off 🙂

  2. You’ve found the sweet spot! Three is a great number!

Leave a Reply

