Day 22

Day 22 – What is your most beloved childhood memory? What memories are you trying to create (or will you try to create) for your child(ren)?

My favorite memories from when I was a kid are any that involve the freedom of moving to a small town. We lived in a pretty sketchy area in New York until I was 8, and then we moved to small town New England. We could ride our bikes around the block! We would be sent out and told not to return until dark! We would run all over town, buying penny candy and biking around the college campus. We just had a blast. My brother and I would play school, and have a class roster written in our notebooks. We would take attendance and let our imaginary students have recess. We would also make cassette tapes of ourselves and pretend like we were radio hosts. Oh, the things we did to occupy ourselves in the eighties! My friends and I would make up dances to Tiffany and Debbie Gibson songs, oh I could go on and on. Even though my relationship with my mom wasn’t always the best, I still had a pretty good childhood in between all the crappy times.

We tried to create a lot of that for Big D. We wanted him to feel free and to be able to do all the things we did. Since he is 16 now, he has already done a lot of it. He used to ride his bike all over with his friends. We had a trampoline in the backyard, and we all used to jump on it. We put a pool in and he and his friends would swim all day. They built a fort together, and just had fun. We have a basketball hoop, and we all play sometimes. We also have a badminton net, and Big D and I have a challenge for ourselves to hit the birdie back and forth a set amount of times (I think 35 was our record). We want him to be able to enjoy his childhood and have fun because it is over way too fast! I think he has, and that he will look back and appreciate it.

Of course now we want him to be responsible and get a job this summer so that he can buy his own car. I did when I was his age, and I am so glad I was taught that lesson. There’s nothing better than knowing you bought your own car. You feel like an adult. He can use mine whenever he wants right now, but I would really like him to have his own. He is dragging his feet a bit, but tells us everyday that he does want to work. We’ll see what happens because he also wants to play football again this year, and that is a big commitment.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

