Quadruple Threat Monday (or days 17, 18,19 & 20)

Day 17 – (for parents) What is your favorite thing about parenthood?  Your least favorite?

My favorite thing about parenting is watching Big D learn and grow everyday. Whenever he has a new experience, such first time driving, first dance, first trip to visit a college, I get so excited for him and remember what that felt like for me.

My least favorite thing is that D and I have had to schedule our alone time. In the past this was much more of an issue than it is now. But before you have kids, you don’t realize how much they will be glued to your side, making it impossible to be alone with your spouse until they go to bed. And then sometimes you are so tired, you just want to go to bed too!

Day 18 – How do you feel about astrology? What’s your sign, baby, and do you think it matches your personality?

I don’t follow astrology religiously, but I think sometimes it definitely plays a role in personality, etc. I was born on January 19th, which makes me a Capricorn under the old chart and a Sagittarius under the “new” one. I am sticking with Capricorn though, because it suits me much better! I match a lot of the Cappy traits, such as being laid-back, happy-go-lucky, but sometimes stubborn. My wife is a Virgo through and through!

Big D was born on January 20th, so he is an Aquarius under the old and a Capricorn under the new. He and I have very similar personalities, which is why I do believe that your sign plays a role. When I’m cranky, so is he, and when I’m happy, so is he. It’s funny how alike we are because I didn’t birth him!

Day 19 – How do you (and your partner if applicable) feel about PDA?

This is an interesting one. I am very comfortable with PDA, but my wife is not. Now when I say PDA, I mean holding hands in public, maybe a little kiss here and there. That does not happen with us unless she has had a lot of whiskey!! When we first got together, we would go to this gay bar in the town where I lived, and we did a lot of PDA there. But we were also brand new, it was okay because it was a gay bar, and she didn’t know anyone there. When she moved up to be with me, she made it clear that we would not be having any public displays of affection. At first I thought it was because of her job, and that she didn’t want to lose any clients, and that was part of it, but really she’s just not the PDA type. She said even when she was with The Donor, she did not want to hold hands or kiss. (I say that’s because he was a man, but she disagrees) She is very private and thinks that should be saved for private moments. We have lots of displays of affection at home. We kiss almost every time we pass each other. We do little love pats on the bottom, and we even hold hands sometimes around the house. She says she hates seeing people all over each other in public, and I have to agree with her when they are shoving their tongues down each others throats – but it would be nice to hold my wife’s hand when we are walking down the street. *sigh* Maybe some day…

Day 20 – What is the kindest thing anyone has ever done for you? Did you repay the kindness?

I would have to say it was D chasing me! If we had never gotten together, I don’t know where I would be right now. She got me out of the constant shit-loop I was in with my ex. She didn’t give up, and I am so grateful to her for that! She was so sweet and wonderful to me – and still is!.

When we first got together, we talked a lot over the phone before we met in person. When I told her I was a chocoholic, (I’m recovered now 🙂 ), she went out of her way to bring me some delicious homemade dark chocolate. It was so sweet, and it showed me that she actually listened to what I was saying. That was big for me because I felt like I was never really heard by my ex.

I hope I have re-paid the kindness by being the best wife I can be for her. I tell her every day how much I love and appreciate her. We talk and make sure the other person is good and has her needs met. She really saved me, and I don’t know if I can ever fully repay her for that.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 20, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Awwwwww… I love the story about D chasing you and winning you over. Sounds like you guys started a great life together following a period that wasn’t so wonderful for you…that is wonderful!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

