Day 14

Day 14 – How do you typically dress? How do you (or would you) like to dress your kid(s)?

This will be a short post! I am not all that concerned with fashion, I am more concerned with comfort. I will not squeeze myself into a size 6 just so I can say I wear that size (I know a lot of women who do this!).  My office doesn’t have a dress code, but the general feeling is that you can dress casual, just not too casual. I always wear nice work clothes during the time when the students are here (no dresses though! I hate dresses!), and now, in the summer, I have been wearing jeans or shorts most days. Casual, but no holes or slogans or anything like that.

Big D dresses himself, as he is 16. We have always let him pick out what he wants to wear, and almost 100% of the time is shorts and a tee shirt. I cannot count how many times I have spoken with him about this in the dead of winter when it is minus 20 out. He seriously would wear them then if we let him (which we don’t). Have I mentioned that we live in the Northeast US? Where we had 5 or 6 two foot snowstorms this past winter? Yeah, that’s my boy!

Now that he’s gotten older, I’ve let go a bit and try to trust that he will be able to know when wearing shorts is not appropriate. He has surprised me a few times and has dressed appropriately for the weather, even when it is well past his “allowed” date to wear shorts (usually mid-March).

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 14, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

