Days 4, 5 and 6

Another 2 posts in one day! WOW!

Okay, now on to the non-challenge, days 4, 5 and 6:

Day 4: (for parents) What has most surprised you about parenthood?

I think what has most surprised me about being a step-mom is that after he turned age 15 or so, my desire to have a child of my own vanished. Maybe it’s the knowing I will have my wife all to myself soon? I’m not sure, but a switch went off, and I am satisfied with life the way it is. The older he gets, the more I don’t want another one. Another thing that surprised me was how annoyed I get when he hangs around us all day long. Big D is amazing, as I have  said a million times before, but he still does some typical teenage stuff, and once in a while has the typical teenage attitude. And sometimes I just want to be alone with my wife!

Day 5 -What do you prefer to do on your birthday? If you have children, what do you prefer to do for their birthday?

I am a pretty simple gal. I don’t want expensive gifts or lots of praise. It’s really just another day to me for the most part. Since Big D’s birthday is the day after mine, I’d much rather the attention be on him. We usually have family over and have cake and presents for both of us at once. My wife has done a few larger things for us, like a weekend away, but now that we are trying to be more fiscally responsible, we do smaller gifts for each other and focus on bigger gifts for Big D. He likes expensive “toys”, so normally we will either get him what he asks for, or give him cash to go toward it. But no, we will not be buying him a car anytime soon. He needs a job first!

Day 6 – When was the last time you tried something new? What was it and what was the result?

I’m not a spontaneous person, and rarely try something new. I am very boring in this aspect. Wait! I did try a ham and salami sandwich with mustard a week ago, and it wasn’t half bad. I wouldn’t eat it everyday, but it was good:) LOL!

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on June 6, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. “how annoyed I get when he hangs around us all day long.” Same thing with a toddler, but at least he goes to bed early 😉

    Ham and salami sandwich. Ha!

    • Just wait! Hee hee! When Big D was about 9 or 10, he was glued to our sides! At least now he can occupy himself and has friends to go hang out with, but he does go to bed pretty late.

      About the sandwich, I know! I am so daring, aren’t I? 🙂

Leave a Reply

