The Meaning of Life

What is the meaning of life? Is it having tons of friends and being a social butterfly? Is it having a family and someone you love? Is it traveling all over and seeing the world?

As I have said before, I am a homebody and I hate to travel. I have my wife and our son and love to be home with them. I am not much into socializing, going out to dinners or drinks with friends. I don’t really even like to leave my home to go anywhere in the evening. Not due to any anxiety or anything, I just don’t want to. Am I weird?

I have 4 bosses, and all of them are much older than me. Everyone always seems to have dinners or parties or book clubs or presentations to go to. That’s just not for me. I think it is looked down upon in society if you are a homebody like me.

I am only 34, yet I feel like I already did all that partying in my younger years and don’t need it now. Even when I did do it, I didn’t do it a lot.

So why is it that most people my age still want to go out? I don’t really get it. I guess if you are single it is required so you can meet new people.

I feel like an old fuddy duddy when a friend wants to grab drinks or dinner. I never want to go. The only time we go out is if it’s for a work function, and that is only 2 or 3 times a year!

While some people may think of this as me being old, I like to think of it as me being content…..what’s your take on it?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I think of it as you bring an introvert 🙂

  2. I think it’s just who you are! And there’s nothing wrong with that. As Strawberry said, there might be a component of introverted-ness to it, too. If it makes you feel any better, I am a total extrovert and I DEFINITELY have times that I say “I don’t want to go anywhere or see ANYONE”. Lead your life as makes you feel the most comfortable…other people might have lots of social obligations b/c of unpleasantness at home? Or out of lonliness? IDK. Your life sounds wonderfully happy, and that’s all that matters in the end, right?!? 🙂

    • Thanks A and Strawberry! It’s funny because I wouldn’t necessarily consider myself an introvert, but once I get home, I definitely am!I am truly happy, and you are right, that is all that matters!:)

Leave a Reply

