It’s been a few days…

It’s been a few days since I last posted and I think it’s because days have been flying around here. The weather has finally been nicer (although it’s raining right now), so we have gotten out and have started walking again. It’s so nice to get back to that ritual. After dinner I do the dishes, and then we get our shoes on and go out for a nice long walk, just the two of us. I have really been feeling uber connected and lovey to my wife lately. Well, really ever since I decided not to TTC. Not that I didn’t feel connected to her before, but it just seems so overwhelmingly so now. Like I miss her when she’s at work. I can’t wait to see her all the time. It’s wonderful and it’s great to know that as we approach our 7 year anniversary, neither one of us is feeling the 7 year itch!:) In fact, neither one of us has ever thought of leaving the other one. It’s such a good feeling to know you are loved so much:)

So, life is good. Work is good. Everything is trucking along nicely. And now spring is fast approaching, and I really feel like writing again. I mean writing another book. I sat at lunch today and hand-wrote a few pages. Not sure where the story will take me though. My first book sits on my computer at home, about 99% finished. I have talked before about getting it published, but haven’t sent it out or anything. I don’t know what I am waiting for, or what I am afraid of. Rejection? That book is my baby. It is something I worked on for a loooooonnnnngggg time, and it means so much to me. I have always wanted to be a published author – ever since I could write at 5 years old. I guess I am not really sure where to start. My boss has a husband who is a New*York T*imes bestseller. He has worked on some pretty famous books, and even had one he co-wrote turned into a movie. I even helped him with a few of them.  But I can’t really talk to him about it because it’s a different kind of book. It has lesbians in it. And sex. Lots of it. He writes a lot of biographies. He is like a second dad. He is more into non-fiction than fiction. So I can’t imagine letting him read my book. It would be embarrassing! I know if I get published that anyone can read it, and maybe that is where the hesitation comes from. I work in academia. People know I am a lesbian and that I am married to my wife. But I don’t talk about sex with them!

Every year around this time I come to this dilemma. To publish or not to publish? I realize that even if I sent it out, it doesn’t mean it’s definitely getting published. I think I should really try this year and see if I can get anywhere.

This is probably the most boring post you have ever read! Sorry to ramble on and on about it. I think I just need to talk myself into it! So, how about you? Are any of you published authors? If so, how’d you do it?

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on March 16, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Not a writer, but I would ask your boss’s husband for a referral to someone who could review a steamy lesbian novel with a judicious eye – he probably knows people. Congrats on the 99% done – I think it is amazing!

  2. Haha! Thanks JenB4:) And welcome! I just ordered a Literary Agent book, so we shall see what happens. I may end up having to ask him soon. He knows about my book, just not what it’s about:)I also have an old Theater professor who saw part of my book on stage when it was just a play that I might ask to critique it. Time will tell what I do!:)

  3. I am all about reading a book with racy lesbian romps in it!!! Get that thing published, chica!!! 🙂 I have been published exactly twice..but neither was a novel, so I have no advice, but bucketfuls for support!!! You can do it!!!

  4. Getting published has always been a pipe dream of mine, but it’s probably not gonna happen. I lack the discipline to finish what I start. Anyway, you should look into publishers for our LGBT niche market. Go research who has published recent lesbian-oriented titles. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

