3 to 5 Inches? My Ass!

Sunday was supposed to be rainy. No problem. It was warmer and pouring all day. The forecast was for 3-5 inches of snow overnight into Monday, with an additional 1-2 inches during the day on Monday. Then it went to 4-6 inches overnight. Then, by the time we went to bed, it was up to 5-8. When I was awoken Monday morning at 5:30 by the phone ringing to let us know that school was closed for Little D, I blearily called my work cancellation line, and it was closed too. D and I looked out the window, but because of all the wind the night before, our cars had snow mohawks and didn’t look that bad. (I’ll post a pic if I remember when I have my camera with me). But we decided that D should work from home. Good thing too.

About an hour later I heard our neighbor struggling to get out (we share a driveway). She has a jeep and 4 wheel drive, and was completely bottomed-out in the snow. I threw on all my winter gear and tried to go out to help. That’s when I realized that we didn’t get 3-5 inches. We didn’t get 4-6 or even 5-8. We got almost 24 inches!! This is bullshit! I had to shovel a path off the deck, swore out loud some,  and then I realized I couldn’t get out of our gate, due to the 2 feet of snow on either side. So the neighbor dug me out. By then her husband came out to snow blow, and sooner or later she got out. I then proceeded to use our snow blower and shovel to dig us out for the next hour and a half.

Since D was working and couldn’t help, she sent Little D out. He is so spoiled that he normally never comes out to help. I asked him to shovel off the front porch. Mind you that I had already snow blew a path to the porch. All he had to do was shovel off the steps and the porch itself, which is actually very tiny. He came out back a few minutes later, said he was “Done!” and threw the shovel into the yard. He said there was so much snow out there and he was tired! LOL! I teased him a bit and he laughed, but said he was definitely done helping.

I went in to rest after clearing everything, except not completely digging the cars out, as I needed D to help me with that, and it was still snowing! About an hour later, D asked if Little D cleaned off the porch, and I told her he did. She said, “Oh. Well he dumped all of the snow onto the porch steps.”  OMFG! When we asked him why he did that, he said he thought the snow blower could get the rest. Huh. For a smart kid, he can be pretty dumb!:)

When D finally finished work at 4:00, we went back out for another hour an a half, dug out the cars (that was an adventure!), and needed help from the neighbor moving them as they were very stuck! Then I had to go out front and dig out the HUGE mess Little D made. I forgot to mention that this snow was HEAVY. I mean, exhaustively so. Our neighbors think he did it on purpose so he wouldn’t be asked to do it again:) I think he was seriously not thinking when he did it, and really thought I could just plow it out.

We finally came in, ate dinner, and collapsed. I am so sore today I can hardly move. Little D apparently doesn’t feel well this morning and is home sick. The roads were still crap, but I made it in and so did D.

So to recap, my snow day yesterday was anything but fun! Little D tried to help, but made things worse. And now our neighbors know just how many swear words we know:)

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on March 8, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. OH MY GOD. I think I would absolutely shoot myself if there was that much snow here. And heavy, wet snow is THE WORST!! I hope you are feeling better and your muscles are done aching!!!!

Leave a Reply

