Stupid Florist!

Valentines Day did not go as I planned yesterday. For the first time ever I was able to send D flowers at work (she wasn’t allowed to get them at her previous jobs), and the florist f*&cked it all up! Since I don’t have time to write out all the details again, I give you the angry email I sent them this morning:

Good Morning-

I am writing because I would like to request a full refund. I wrote another email to you through the website yesterday at 4:00 expressing the reasons why, but I will tell you again here.

First, I have never gotten to surprise my wife with anything. She always guesses what’s going on before it happens. Now, thanks to (name redacted – NR) and EF (second florist), she has still not been surprised, and her Valentines Day was definitely not as happy as it could have been.

I placed the order on February 10th in the early morning. I assumed that NR would be the one delivering the flowers, as that is who I ordered them from. I also assumed that they would be delivered during the day and in a timely fashion. They were not. I emailed you yesterday around 1:30 to let you know she hadn’t gotten them yet. I also called your business in (town) twice. The first time at around 2:00 p.m. and the second time at 3:30. Keep in mind that I told the person on the line both times that D (my wife) leaves the office at 4:00. I was getting pretty frantic at 3:30 when they hadn’t yet arrived, and that is when I was told that “the arranger” promised delivery by 4:00. I wasn’t told who the arranger was, and didn’t understand that that meant another florist! By now the cat was out of the bag, and my wife knew I was sending her something. I had to tell her, otherwise she would have thought I had forgotten! They FINALLY arrived at 3:50 p.m., right as my wife was packing up for the day, and well after almost everyone in the office left. What good is it to get flowers at work ON VALENTINES DAY, 10 minutes before the office closes? As I said in the previous email, this is not acceptable. I placed the order early enough where they should have been delivered during the day, preferably in the morning, but at least by 2:00 p.m.! My wife also ordered me flowers from a florist in (another town). She placed the order on Friday night. They were delivered to my office before 9:00 a.m. yesterday, and they are beautiful. They also cost over $20.00 less than what I paid you!

We have used NR before through my work, and so I decided to go through you. What a mistake! My jaw dropped when I saw the email below and checked the card to verify that you used EF! I did not want EF to handle my flower order. If I did, I would have walked literally around the corner from my house and ordered them there. The quality of their flowers is terrible, the service, as you can see, is atrocious! We have used them before with the same results, and that is why I didn’t use them this time. Example: A few years ago, my wife ordered me 2 dozen long stem roses from them. She spent $120.00. What arrived was 22 short stemmed roses, stuffed so tightly in a vase too small and half dead. They all died 2 days later.

I am extremely disappointed in the service I received. It wasn’t even the service I asked for! I paid you almost $85.00 to deliver to my wife on Valentines Day right before she left, from a florist we do not trust and did not want. Does that sound like I got what I paid for to you?

I look forward to your reply.

Sincerely,
M

So, what do you think? Am I right to be this upset? What would you do? She has not emailed me back yet…..I am waiting for a resolution.

UPDATE: The florist just called. She is refunding my money 100% and sending D a surprise bouquet from them (and not the other florist) later this week! I am so glad I stuck to my guns! I’m still not sure I will ever use them again, but it was a great outcome.

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on February 15, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. A few years back, I ordered flowers for my wife at work (for V day) and they were never delivered (until the day after). I wrote a nasty email to them and got a voucher for a free flower delivery (which I used since it was free), but there was no way in hell I would ever pay them to deliver flowers again. Their excuse was that they were too backed up with orders to be able to deliver them all. Wow. I hope you hear back from your place. They should’ve given you a time estimate at the very least.

  2. Floral delivery on V-day is such a nightmare (for the florists, too, I assume). But that sounds like terrible service, and I agree that you ordered early enough that they should have been able to get it done and delivered by 2pm. Hopefully you get your money back!

    • Yes, I am sure that day is a nightmare for them! I can understand the hectic-ness, but they should have let me know that it would be that late. I am glad they resolved my issue and will be giving me a refund:)

Leave a Reply

