Great News For the New Year!

Wow, a lot has been going down at casa de TLND! I had been on vacation since December 22nd at noon. And what an awesome vacation it was! Not because we went anywhere exciting (although I did go to the DMV to get my license renewed:)), but because my wife got a new job!!

For as long as I have known her (almost 7 years), and for several years prior to us meeting, she has been a hair stylist. A very good hair stylist. She has complained over the years that so many people see her title and automatically think she is dumb. Of course she isn’t (she’s with me, isn’t she?:))! The pay is also not consistent, and tips lately have sucked because of the economy. She decided she wants to finish her degree that she started right out of high school. So, since she gets tuition remission through me, she enrolled in a class last semester that assesses your life experience and gives you credit. This was her first step. She won’t know until a few months from now how much credit she will get. She decided she wants to work with women. She has sent many women that have had her do their hair to the Women’s Crisis Center over the years.  Let me just tell you, there are A LOT of battered women out there. Anyway, she wanted to get into either Sociology or Social Work. She is planning on taking more classes this semester. In the meantime, she has not been happy at her job, and so she sent out an application a few weeks ago and never heard back. She does this from time to time, but nothing has panned out because employers see Hair Stylist and automatically throw the resume into the trash. Nevermind that she has owned several businesses and has always worked very hard at everything she has done!

On Thursday, December 23rd, she got an email that they wanted to interview her on Monday the 27th. We had a huge snowstorm Sunday night, so they had a phone interview. Then she went in for a face-to-face interview on Wednesday the 29th. One that started at 9:00 am and didn’t end until 12:30 pm! I could tell they really liked her. I was freaking out a bit because the interview was in a town only 6 miles away, but with no cell service – but I held out okay:). By 8:30 am on Thursday, they called to let her know she had the job. She will be the Intake Coordinator for Pregnant Women at an adoption agency!!  Great hours, weekends and holidays off, and she can work from home if the weather is bad! Today is her first day, and I really hope she is doing well. She was so excited for this, and I can’t wait to hear how it went. We’ll be pulling into the driveway that the same time everyday, and we’ll get to have the weekends together, which I don’t think we ever have since we moved in together! We celebrated this Saturday by going on a date-day. We went out to lunch and shopping, and just enjoyed each other:)

The funny thing? My new title has “Coordinator” in it too! We’re gonna Coordinate the shit out of everything! Everything happened so fast, my head is still spinning! I am so, so, so proud of my wife!

As for the rest of my vacation, well, lets just say that I am down 3 medium bags of M&M’s (one Pretzel, one regular, and one mint). And that I got to the end of level four on D*onkey Kon*g Cou*ntry for Wii:) It was a lot of fun, but I am glad to be away from all of that junk food and back to work!

How was your holiday break? (if you had one!)

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on January 3, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. hey chickie..had to write and say that I laughed out loud (and in the process half snorted the water I was drinking!) when I read what you wrote about coordinating the sh!t out of things. LOVE it!!!

    So glad to hear that there are so many wonderful things greeting your family!!! Hooray!!!

  2. Thanks A!:)I was hoping that would make people laugh:) Hope you are doing well in your new place!

  3. How exciting. Congrats to D and happy 2011!

Leave a Reply

