I’m Still Here

It’s been a while since I posted, so I thought I’d pop in and write. There’s really not that much to say lately, which may be the cause of the silence. Life is great! My wife and I are still going strong, so there’s no drama there to write about. Little D is great, and doing well. Little D’s “father” is still in jail – which has been W-O-N-D-E-R-F-U-L!!!! This is the longest he’s been in jail, and I really hope they keep him for a loooonnnggg time. Or at least until Little D goes off to college. It has been so peaceful around the house. And if he does call, we can ignore it, since he can’t even leave a message….bliss!

My wife and Little D wrote him a lengthy letter explaining their feelings. It was a great way for Little D to get it all out, since it’s hard for him to actually say it to him. He called a week later, and my wife told him he should write to Little D, and say more than just ” I’m sorry” as he’s heard that all before and it means nothing to him. His response was that he doesn’t have time to write. LMAO! He’s in jail….how much more time does he need? Just goes to show you how he really feels about his son. He said he just wants to hear Little D’s voice – to which my wife responded, “That’s the problem. That will make you feel better, but what does it do for him?” He also said “Kids are resilient, they forget these things and forgive.” He obviously doesn’t know Little D at all! He definitely has not, and will not forget all the crap his “father” put him through. By the end of the conversation, he finally said he would write. We haven’t seen anything yet and that was over two weeks ago. We’ll see what happens.

My nephew J is apparently causing some problems for Little D at school. He’s the one with Asp*bergers. He is telling everyone that they are really good friends and that they hang out all the time (which isn’t entirely true.) Since they all pick on J because his social skills are lacking, now they are picking on Little D. He came home yesterday pretty upset. Little D and J run in different circles, Little D with the popular kids and J with the not so popular. I think he wants me to call my mom and say something to her, but that’s a pretty delicate thing. I mean, what do I say: “Uh, hi mom, can you please tell J to stop telling people he and Little D are friends? All the kids are picking on him about it.” Yeah, awkward! If he wasn’t my nephew on top of everything else, I may be able to do something about it, but I don’t want to hurt J’s feelings. Little D and J do get along outside of school. They have “hung out” before, but J has been good enough to not say anything about it. 6 years later, and only 6 months until J graduates, and he chooses this time to tell people these things! I would like to tell Little D to stick up for J (which he often does) but I don’t know how much of a social burden I would be placing on him in this instance. I’m not sure what to do here…..any suggestions would be helpful.

Anyway, Christmas is one week away and it is so exciting!! I love this time of year! Whoever thought to put Christmas at the end of December was a genius! (as Christ wasn’t born then…fyi. Not that that matters to me, because as I’ve said be fore, me and religion – not close friends). It’s the perfect reprieve from an otherwise cold, snowy, dark and depressing season. I’ve struggled with seasonal depression before, mostly when we were TTC’ing and one year when we definitely weren’t TTC’ing. But this year I have felt surprisingly great. It may have to do with my new found acceptance of not having a child right now, and my new found acceptance of my body. Getting promoted doesn’t hurt either!:)

On the promotion front – I will be getting a new very lengthy title to replace my old, already lengthy title. I am also getting a raise, although I have no idea when or how much. It would have been nice for this paycheck, but as long as I get it soon, I will be happy. (Things have been tight since my wife switched jobs back in July.) There is more responsibility associated with all of this, and it has definitely kept me busy!

If I don’t write again before then, I wish everyone a very happy, healthy and safe holiday season!!

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on December 16, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. It sounds like everything is going great! Glad to hear Little D’s dad isn’t around to cause problems for the moment.

    About his cousin–I don’t know what you want to do about it, but I can tell you that one of the things I am most ashamed of in my life is not being proud of my sister in high school. It only happened once, when I agreed with a kid who was saying mean things about her, but I still feel bad about it. I think D should just keep on doing what he’s doing, and if anyone teases him just say, ‘hey, that’s my cousin. leave him alone.’ If his friends aren’t total idiots, they will. If they are–well, they are, and June can’t come fast enough.

  2. Isa’s advice sounds solid. Kids will be more likely to pick on D for who his family is if he acts ashamed. I think he might need to step up a bit.

Leave a Reply

