NaBloPoMo and Lesbians

Hello world! Obviously I am not participating in NaBloPoMo. November one of the busiest months for me. But I wanted to pop by and hopefully keep my readers interested:)

So I decided to list my top five favorite lesbian characters ever:

Dana Fairbanks (The L Word)

Dana Fairbanks was the first lesbian character I ever loved. She was so quirky and clumsy, and reminded me a lot of myself. The L Word wasn’t my absolute favorite lesbian show, but it is my second favorite:) Dana brought a lot to the show, and it’s a shame she was killed off, but it was fun while it lasted!

Spencer Carlin (South of Nowhere)

Ahh, Spencer Carlin. Again, I think I like this character so much because she reminds me a lot of myself. South of Nowhere is the first show I saw that was on regular TV with a lesbian storyline. The writing wasn’t always superb, but I loved it none the less.

Bette Porter (The L Word)

Bette is the dream woman. She’s smart, successful and beautiful. Never mind her cheating ways, she is so hot, I’d overlook that fact!:)

 

Naomi Campbell (Skins)

Okay, don’t think I’m a perv or anything, she’s of age!:) (Granted, she is about 13 years younger than me, but age is just a number!) Naomi is one half of the most realistically written and acted lesbian couples ever shown on TV. It is a shame that US television has not even come close to portraying lesbian couples as genuinely and accurately as British TV’s hit show, Skins (Seasons 3 and 4). If you have not yet seen it, please, go out of your way to see it! It’s my new vice. Naomi has a hard exterior, but she really is a softy, especially when it comes to my favorite all time lesbian character ever on TV:

Emily Fitch (Skins)

Oh Emily, how I love thee:) Emily Fitch, the other half of said realistic lesbian couple. She is brave, unafraid of her sexuality. She embraces it. She makes me think about how I was as a teen, or rather, how I wish I was. She loves Naomi, and no matter how much Naomi pushes her away, she stays strong because she knows its true. She seems shy at first, but really, she is the most un-shy, the most real.

Lily Loveless (Naomi) and Kathryn Prescott (Emily) accomplished something with their characters that I have never seen before. They took hold and made them real. For young actresses (20 and 19 respectively) they have surprised a lot of people. It’s not an easy task to play a lesbian when you are that young!

So there you go, my top 5. If I had more time, I would have done a top 10! But then again, who even knows if you are interested in this sort of thing?

 

 

About thelesbiannextdoor

I am a 40 year old lesbian, living with her wife in a small town. I have a 22 year old step-son. Who knows, I could be your neighbor ;) (Unless you know for sure your neighbor is not a lesbian - then I'm probably not!)

Posted on November 10, 2010, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I ADORE ERIN DANIELS!!!! I totally classify LWord episodes in one of 2 ways: pre-Death of Dana and post. I think she really helped to make that show early on!!!! (and it doesn’t help that Erin Daniels is just so damn dead sexy!) 🙂 Thanks for sharing!!!!

  2. I totally agree with you! I had such a celeb-u-crush on her back then:) And I loved her and Lara together. TLW definitely lost some of the comedy when Dana died. Thank goodness for DVD’s! Now Dana can live forever! LOL!

Leave a Reply

